Help with our animals and experience life on a hobby farm near Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, myself and my partner live in a traditional farmhouse in rural co. Antrim. We have hens, cats, dogs, ponies and a garden. We love the outdoors, animals and meeting new people. We are hoping work away will help us to meet new people who want to share our rural life. We would like help with animals, yard work, general maintenance and general routine. We are not a commercial farm, we keep the animals for our enjoyment.

    We are ideally Looking for an animal lover who could cook and was not afraid to try new things. Every day here is different! We are close to a bus to the local town and good transport links to Belfast and Dublin. Our location is within 20mins of carrickfergus castle, tardree forest and the stunning antrim coast. The giants causeway and Belfast city would both be within 1hour of our location. We would love to help you explore in your free time. Please get in touch if you have any questions! We can’t wait to hear from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Having been raised and worked mainly in the countryside I would love to share my experience of rural life in Ireland. I have always loved animals in particular horses, so the visitor can gain experience in their care and perhaps some riding. Previous to being self employed I worked with children with behaviour difficulties so have an interest in psychology. I also have worked within agriculture.

    My partner, Ken, works in the building trade and is a keen gardener. He was born and raised in Belfast city centre and has first hand experience of Belfast’s political divide. He has a lot of knowledge about the city and it’s features. Life for him was very different than what I was used to, but we have found common ground and love rural life together. It would be nice to be able to share this.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers would be feeding animals, collecting eggs, cooking meals and general maintenance tasks, both indoor and outdoor. We will try to accommodate the skill set each individual has.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will have their own living and sleeping space in a caravan on the yard. They will use the main house for showering and sharing family meals. The caravan has electric and toilet facilities and is basic but comfortable. They will have privacy and their own space should they wish to entertain. They will be welcome into the house at anytime should they need anything. We would love to share food with our workawayer and hopefully they can do some cooking for us. They will get breakfast and dinner here but lunch would be their own responsibility. Cooker fridge and microwave all available. Should the weather turn cold, there is an option of a bedroom in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of beautiful countryside to walk or cycle, bike can be provided here. Close to giants causeway, Belfast or Dublin City trips, tardree forest, award winning village Broughshane with its wildlife and waterfowl park. We are also close to the famous dark hedges and carrickfegus castle. Ball in toy harbour and the beautiful Antrim coast road are all within 1hour of us. There will be public transport links to most of these places and we would accommodate car lifts if need be to facilitate sightseeing days. We are self employed so every day is different and we don’t have set time off. We can be very flexible should the workawayer want to make their own plans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have WiFi connection in the house for our own personal and business use. There is no limit. It is possible for the workawayer to use it also.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Contact me to discuss options. Yard space and electric hook up could be provided beside the main house

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 358945947926