Join our non-profit project for environment art and culture and stay in a beautiful and unspoiled Ticino valley, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Marco (57) and with other volunteers we work to create a meeting point for our community and the people who visit this region. We are a non-profit association and our donors have given us an old stone house from the 17th century and a beautiful farmhouse in the high mountains with meadows and pine forests to make something new by involving enthusiastic people like you. We need help to renovate the house and the farmhouse but also ideas to develop activities and original proposals. Moreover we like to create a small artistic center that welcomes artists to create a work of art in exchange for a stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you stay in a beautiful and unspoiled Ticino valley, exploring the surrounding nature, in the peace of mountain life, or spend your time in the sun on maggia river. But if you miss the crowd in less than one hour you can reach Locarno and the lago Maggoire area, Bellinzona with the three Castel or Lugano on Ceresio lake. During sommer many small local events will allow you an authentic contact with the people. If you look for live music between June and August there is a lot live concerts.

    If you like Cinema you cant miss the "International Locarno film Festival" in August.

  • Help

    Help

    This year 2019-2020 we are renovating our house and hut in the mountains but at the same time we are developing our cultural and recreational offers.
    We are mainly looking for material removal activities, painting work, forest and pasture care and help with the construction of small wooden structures.

    IMPORTANT
    For your daily activities, you need sturdy shoes and comfortable seasonal work clothes.

    If you have good web or marketing skills, you can help us by developing our website (wordpress) or promoting our activities. In any case, we rely on dialogue and exchange of ideas with everyone to find original solutions.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have completely independent accommodation and you manage your own expenses with a dedicated budget, but can always count on us for every need.
    Depending on the activity, you'll stay:
    in our 17th century house with shared bathroom and kitchen.
    OR
    in the stone hut in the mountains where we live in a simple way with a field kitchen and you sleep in a common room generally in sleeping bag (provided by us if you do not have yours)

    Workawayers have a kitchen at their disposal. In general, meals (italian country style) are cooked and eaten together. However, if you have special needs (vegetarian or vegan), we will provide you with the necessary to prepare your favorite dishes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To move around during your free time you can use the public transport that serves the village. You can also use our electric bicycle for small journeys.
    If you have special wishes, we will accompany you by car as much as possible.
    We are already looking for volunteers for 2020 season February-November with minimum stay of 2 weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workawayer Patrizia and Fernanda
Workawayer Patrizia and Fernanda helping Siro
Workawayer Fernanda and Patrizia 1st e-mtb tour to Cevio
Workawayer Mandy Grant with Pamela at Naret Dam
Workawayer "Dream team" Erica, Salomé and Nadav
Workawayers Cicel Gabriel and Claudia
Cicel

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 358458444447