Help with Japanese ryokan styled guesthouse with hot spring in Yufuin, Oita Kyushu. Life with animals in a beautiful small town. Let's do something fun together:)




Favourited 1128 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi, I'm Kaz and moved from Tokyo to this small town in a beautiful mountain about 10 years ago and started my business when I was 25. Now I'm running something like a Japanese Ryokan styled guesthouse in yufuin, Oita, Kyushu limited to 3 rooms. The guesthouse is in an old house that I have been renovating with a lot of the things in the guesthouse made by hand for example the guestroom, furniture, Onsen (hot spring) and more. I am not a carpenter or any specialist, but I just tried. I would be really grateful if you could help me make things together:) And I am also a drone pilot and shoot aerial footage for TV program sometimes. I'll be happy to see someone who loves drone:)

    In order to enjoy country life, I also keep different animals such as a mini-pig, mini-goat, French lop rabbit, cats, chicken and so on. I have a big field outside used as a garden and vegetable field. But it doesn't look like a vegetable field since I'm not a farmer and still trying to improve it. Your help would be really appreciated.

    I used to work in TOKYO, I moved to this countryside small town about 10 years ago, and started this place. I've been accepting over 300 foreigner volunteers from more than 20 countries. Our place is always evolving. I look forward to do something with you guys here:)

    Minimum stay is 2 weeks but I would appreciate if you could stay about a month since there are several things to teach for animal care and other stuff. If you are staying only for a week, there will be less task we can ask you to help and those tasks are quite boring. There will be more things we can do if you stay longer:) Of course you can extend your stay if there is still space and you can always come back here:)

    Things I like:
    Animals (I often go to an Aquarium and pet shop alone. haha)
    Watch Anime (My favorite is Steins gate, Hyouka, Toradora)
    Flying drone (I make youtube videos and I have a drone instructor licence and also DJI instructor)

    Language we use:
    We use English everyday. You don't need to be able to speak any Japanese. We can teach basic daily conversational Japanese, Japanese manners, culture and how to enjoy in Japan without offending others unconsciously.

    Since we receive so many requests, here are some of my preference when I need to choose somebody.
    [My preference for volunteers]
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️People who can bring a nice smile and happy atmosphere.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️No couple, no group.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️No tattoo ('cause you cannot go to Onsen with us).
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️No vegetarian, no vegan (we cannot prepare different food just for you).
    *️️️️️️️No backpacker style (you need to take a bath everyday and dress nice, trim your beard and no long wild hair)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Age under 35 would be better
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️People who likes Onsen (Hotspring), Onsen is a place to communicate:)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️People who likes taking photo or video would be nice. I like just going out in a midnight to take star pictures
    *️️️️️️It's difficult for me to reply your message if your profile photo is not a good one or if you have only 1 photo on your profile page.

    I'm sorry but I don't reply messages which doesn't say why you want to stay here or if the message seems like copy and paste one. Please send me a message again If I don't reply your message within a week. Most of time I'm just too busy.

    *️️️️️️️️We offer a wage. This wage is offset by part of the cost of the accommodation, hotspring and the food, offered depending on local labor laws. If you can speak Japanese fluently and stay for at least a year, there will be extra.

    日本人で国際的な環境で自分探しをしたい、英語環境で働いてみたいという方、興味がありましたらお気軽にメッセージをいただければと思います。上に記載しているとおり基本的には英語環境での旅館運営+αの内容になります。常時2~4名程度の主にヨーロッパ圏のWorkawayer を受け入れております。国際交流をしながら日本のことをきちんと説明し、楽しみながら国際交流できる方を募集中です。

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There aren't many things I can teach or give. But I'd like to create a good relationship and host you guys as friends. I'm not really familiar with this workaway system but you'll be helping about 5 hours out of 24h which means our relationship should be more like friends otherwise it's gonna be quite uncomfortable for both of us. I don't wanna use you guys as laborers and I don't want you to think of our place as a free accommodation. What I used to do when I had helpers was going to Onsen together, Karaoke, day trip,

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    The main points for help would be cleaning and setting the guestrooms, taking care of and feeding the animals. When doing construction working helping out with that, depending on the season outside gardening and the vegetable field. Also I'm a drone pilot and make videos. If you are interested in shooting videos and taking pictures, let's capture beautiful moments together!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, english, spanish(un poco)

  • Accommodation


    Basically you'll be staying in a shared staff room (separated for male and female). Our definition of the room is a place to sleep. You can hang out in the dining room or other places in our facility, but the first priority are our guests since it's a hostel. Our place is quite small and you'll be spending most of your time with us around. I haven't accepted volunteers for a while but I would like to accept more than 2 volunteers all the time since it's more fun:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the mornings there are only small things to do. Prepare meal for guests and us, a bit of dish washing then cleaning, bed making, and taking care of animals. After finishing there is free time until the guests check in which if from 4 pm, usually while waiting we play some game like cards. In the evening help with dinner preparation for guess and us, wash dishes, and some animal care.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    it depends, less than 5 hours a day in average, 5 days a week.

Some of our facility is always under construction. You'll easily find where to improve. I look forward your help:)
My goat and pig. They love people.
I want my volunteers to enjoy local food as well. Our diet is not only healthy ones. haha.
We bought lunch and had it outside. Daytime is almost free everyday. People go climbing this mountain often.
We often go to Onsen (hot spring). I'll teach and share how to enjoy Japanese culture!
This is the waterfall I often take my volunteers to.
Hi, I'm Kaz and this is my pig Juicy. I was not allowed to have a pet who doesn't fit in a fish tank when I was a kid. Now I'm living with pig, goat, cats and other animals around me:) Life is once, let's have fun together:) I'll be looking forward to hosting you here!
Yufuin is a small town. But you can relax and think about your future in this small beautiful town.
Fixing outside bath together. It's fun to do the construction with more people.
Our guests spend their time like this. Walking around the ryokan wearing Yukata. Our guest are 99% foreigner and you'll be helping us introducing this town to them as well.
We have an incubator and chicks hatch once in a while.
We take our goat for a walk every morning. The view is really nice and we enjoy chatting while my goat is eating:)

Host ref number: 358383597362