Get a chance to experience the culture, friendliness and safety of Grenada, Eastern Caribbean

Country

Grenada

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a little farm - fruits, veggies, herbs.............

    Had to give up my volunteering with Doctors without borders because of back problems. Trying to get back into my farm to keep me active. Travelling for me is a joy and have travelled to many places in Europe, Africa, Asia and America.
    Now I'm a retired Nurse/Midwife I do miss the interaction with people of different cultures.

    I live alone on a 1.4 acre lot that has many fruit trees which need pruning. The lot is gently sloping with a panoramic view and not far from a lovely beach. Now trying my hand to see what is profitable, making jams and fruit wines and would like to get into sweets and processing all the fruits that go to waste here. Would also like to get into recycling bottles to make various products - have been trying but not getting them to cut smoothly. I also run an Airbnb so there are visitors here esp. during winter months - Room numbers now reduced to 3.

    On Saturdays and every other Wednesday, I sell extra produce from my farm in the farmers' market which is the highlight of my week. It's real fun- listening to great music, dancing and interacting with other sellers. I am also trying to learn Spanish.

    A three legged dog, Q lives with me. She is very quiet and friendly but shy. I also have an adorable cat, Ryka who is loving and fun.

    OK so if you are mature with experience and can do any of the listed tasks you will be welcome

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Maybe a mature creative soul/s who can do any of the above listed. Sorry, I will not have time to Teach gardening' so experience and initiative is necessary.

    Maybe someone wants to improve English, and help me with Spanish. Interested in small scale gardening and Agro industry. A chance to experience the culture and friendliness and safety of Grenada. A chance to relax get away from the concrete jungle and reconnect with nature... About 4 - 5 hour working day 5 days a week will be fine. You can join me on trips etc. This is a cool place to hang out and feel at peace with the world. You can learn about making jams, and a new culture and how to live without the noise and hustle and bustle around today

    Please note, only contact me if you are genuinely interested. I have accepted persons who then never follow up. This avoids me turning down persons who are really interested and who need to book early flights
    Thank you
    Marguerite

  • Help

    Help

    Anyone who can do ANY of the following

    1. Help with correctly pruning trees
    2. weeding
    3. landscaping using old tyres
    4. art /recycle projects, cutting bottles,
    5. house maintaince - carpentry, Masonry/plastering, painting, plumbing - need a bathtub fitted, plastering and painting a storeroom
    6. House sitting when I am away.
    8. general house cleaning
    9. help build a gazebo using bamboo and recycle materials

    PLEASE NOTE. I DON'T HAVE THE TIME TO TEACH AS THIS PREVENTS ME FROM GETTING ON WITH MY DAILY TASKS.
    I NEED MATURE PEOPLE WITH EXPERIENCE AND INITIATIVE.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, little Ndebele, Siswati, toda Urdu.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be in a 2 bed apartment which is fully furnished, with double bed, wardrobe, bedside light, sockets and plugs, Kitchen is fully equipped. Bathroom has washing machine and hot water (solar) in shower, balcony with panoramic views. This bedroom comfortably accommodates a couple.

    The other room stores soap making supplies. A young lady uses this room and, comes about once a month to make soaps but only for a day or two. She will use the kitchen area for soap making. The rooms are bright, airy and very private. They have just been refreshed by my first Workawayers who did a fantastic job!

    I live upstairs. I also run an Airbnb. You can have dinner with me, or if you wish to do you own cooking, you have a well equipped kitchen in your apartment to do so. I do not have TV. or A/C. The area is cool and electricity is super expensive on the islands

    My first Workawayers and I enjoyed evening meals together on my balcony. We also went dancing, hiking, to the beach and places of interest together as we all worked well and so deserved some fun time - You have your space and your free time to do whatever you like. I will advise you on places of interest.

    The garden has many fruits - about 15 varieties so healthy eating is good here. I grow my own herbs and veggies. I do some vegetarian meals - most of the supplies come from my garden! If you need speciality items for diet or health reasons you will have to bring those. Apart from garden stuff everything is imported on the island so food can be expensive. You will have to contribute to your meals
    You will have to take care of yourselves as I do not have a maid.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a good bus service but it ends about 7 p.m. The beach is nearby - 5 mins on the bus, there are waterfalls and other beaches not far, if you like hiking this is a good place.
    If you want to reconnect with nature this is the place. Ideally located to get around the island. I live a quiet life. I go to the beach, or try to go at least 2 times a week but you can go every day. I work in the mornings mainly in the garden for about 4 hours and then indoors. Then restart in the garden when it's cooler - about 5 p.m. for another 2 hours or less.

    Thank you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Your own large bathroom with washing machine and hot solar shower
your own kitchen if you wish
your bedroom two large window very bright
This is my home which you share (own apartment)
Me at bushfire, Swaziland 2015 - I love to travel

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (3.0)




Host ref number: 357659168163