Experience living with a typical Austrian family in a small village, Yspertal, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Family of 5:
    Carmen+Bernhard and 3 kids: Chiara (18), Julian (13) and Mimi (8).
    Carmen is a doctor and Bernhard usually works from home.
    Julian and Mimi are in elementary and middle school.
    Chiara finished school this year and will start university in Vienna this fall.

    Julian loves computer games. If you want you can play with him.
    He also really enjoys swimming in our pool.
    He is learning English in school. You can help him if you want.

    Mimi is very creative. She loves drawing and painting.
    She also really enjoys being outside, especially in the summer.
    She can speak a little bit of English. She will be able to understand you if you speak slowly.

    Chiara wanted to go to Japan as a workawayer this summer, but she had to cancel her trip.
    She was an exchange student to the USA a few years ago.
    She can show you around and help you learn German.

    We live in a village called Yspertal.
    Our house is new and we have a big pool.
    The nature in Yspertal is beautiful.
    There are some shops within walking distance.
    You can also get really good pizza and kebap at a small restaurant close to us.
    There is a town called Ybbs about 20 minutes from Yspertal.
    You can take the bus to get there.
    There is a train station and shopping mall in Ybbs.
    The trains from Ybbs go directly to Melk, St. Pölten and Vienna.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about typical family life in Austria.
    If you want you can learn how to cook Austrian food with Carmen.
    She also likes to bake, so feel free to join her.
    We all speak German, so we can teach you.
    You can also take public transportation to visit many places like Vienna and Melk.
    There is a lot of nature around our house.
    You can go hiking if you want.
    We are interested in other cultures too, so please tell us about yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    We sometimes need someone to take care of Mimi (8) and Julian (13) when Carmen, Bernhard, and Chiara are not at home. This happens about 1-3 times a week.
    Help in the garden and around the house would also be appreciated.
    If you like to cook, you can cook something and we can eat together.
    We also have a cat named Milli. You can feed her if you want.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a nice new double bed.
    There is one window in the room.
    We will give you the key to your room so you can lock it when you are not inside.
    There is also a desk and a closet in your room.
    We have fast WIFI and you are welcome to use it.
    You are welcome to use our kitchen and living room during the day.
    You can eat with us.
    We also have a nice garden with a big pool and a trampoline.
    There is a bus stop 2 minutes away from our house. It takes about 1 hour and 30 minutes to get to Vienna from there. You can also visit places like Melk and St. Pölten.
    There is a small river with beautiful waterfalls close to our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 1-4 day's a week

our home
This is the room for workawayers
Bernhard, Carmen, and Grandpa Hubert.
Mimi and Julian on the train to Vienna.
Julian, Chiara and Mimi
Host ref number: 356274921414