Build with straw, clay and learn about ecological building and working with wood. Austria

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 33 and 35 year old couple who live north from Graz at a small "farm" with 17 chickens, 7 cats and one dog and a garden, which gets extended every year. Our idea is to live largely sustainable and independent. As this is not easy we have to work a lot to come closer to this point. We are renovating the house with ecological materials, we grow our own vegetables and we have eggs from our chickens. In future we'd also like to have goats and sheep and produce our own electricity from wind energy... But for now we are busy with the house, inside and outside.
    Tanja is an artist teaching ceramic in an art school and Andi has worked a long time as a graphic designer and is studying European ethnology and pedagogy now. We both like intellectual work and handwork.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are lots of different things to learn, especially about ecological building and working with wood.
    We have all the important wood processing machines, so we can make our furniture by ourselves and we can introduce you to that field. Except working with wood, you can also learn how to work with clay. There is a little ceramic studio with a potter's wheel and all the tools for working with clay. I'm a ceramic teacher in an art school, so I can show you the different techniques in the ceramic and talk with you about ideas, art and concepts...
    And of course you can learn about organic gardening and sustainable living in general.

  • Help

    Help

    This summer we are going to renovate our house, that means we build a tower as an extension building and we make a new roof. We will use sustainable materials like straw, clay and wood. During this period we need a lot of helping hands for building up the wood construction and then putting the straw into the wood construction and probably also for plastering the straw with clay. Also there is a lot of other work to be done, like gardening, going for a walk with our dog and feeding the chicken.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We prepare one room for you with a comfortable bed and some place to store your stuff. There is of course also a desk in it. The room is usually my ceramic studio. The room has a wooden floor and a wooden ceiling. It has two big windows, so there comes a lot of light through. You will have it very quiet and private there, because it's very separated from the rest of the rooms in the house. We have a nice outside shower with sun warmed water and a compost toilette next to it.
    My partner and I are vegetarians, so we are not cooking meat here. Vegan food is not a problem, we cook vegan very often anyway. In summer we have a lot of vegetables from our garden. All the food we have to buy, like cheese and flour or lentils we take care that it is biological. If you like to cook we would appreciate it, but if not, we can also do it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is located on a little hill in the middle of the forest with sun all day long. It seems like we would live very far away from everything, but actually we are just 15 min. away from the second biggest city in Austria, Graz. There is a good train connection to Graz and also by bicycle you need just 40 min to the city. The village we live in, Judendorf, is not so small too. You can get there all the important things and there is even a nice bar. It takes you five minutes by car or ten minutes by bicycle to go there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    ca. 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 758447225175