Come and help out on hobby farm near Perth, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 583 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a young-minded couple living the dream on our 6 acre hobby farm in Bullsbrook approx. 1 hour north of the City of Perth. We are 45 minutes drive inland from the coast at Burns Beach and 35 minutes from the City of Joondalup.

    Right now we are planning new projects on our property and we NEED young mixed couples or young men to help us make a difference. The work is not hard and you will see the fruits of your labour very quickly!

    Our sons are both grown up and visit from time to time. We have a large family of dogs and cats and a few sheep, a pet goat, a pet pig, five geese and an abundance of chickens. We have a new lamb born about 6 months ago. Our family dogs include three pugs and a Kelpie. Our six cats are all adorable rescues with great personalities.

    We grow organic seasonal vegetables including a variety of chillis. We believe some have cross pollinated and we have types that you wouldn’t see in your local grocery stores. We also grow horseradish for the Perth restaurant market.

    We're looking for open minded, fun volunteers not afraid to get their hands dirty - people who love cats and dogs especially, seeing as how we have so many! WE WOULD PREFER TO HEAR FROM COUPLES MALE/FEMALE MIX who are happy to work together. We offer a queen sized bed in your own room, access to Netflix and a shared bathroom and toilet.

    The tasks are varied and include but are not limited to, feeding animals, cleaning out animal pens, weeding, planting, construction, repairs and maintenance, some housework - a variety of things all on an as needed basis, stuff that makes all our lives run smoothly. Each day can be different and tasks are planned daily.

    We are a meat eating couple. Having said that - we recently hosted an amazing vegetarian couple who convinced us that eating vegetarian meals was not that bad! So we are open to persuasion if you can cook from our pantry! We offer comfortable, clean accommodation. And we look forward to having you on board!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English. We are friendly, worldly and open hearted. We welcome young couples who are searching for a rural adventure.

  • Help


    We have lots of new projects in mind here at our Farm - we are always looking to expand our lifestyle and improve our property. So, you may be involved in planting trees and vegetables, weeding, clearing the fields of bracken/rocks, fence maintenance, paving, erecting sheds, possibly some building work, all as our lifestyle evolves. And, of course, care of our animals. We have lots of chickens so feeding, cleaning out coops, collection of eggs are all daily chores. So is feeding the sheep in the summer months when grass is scarce, and Nigel (our pig) is always happy to receive food any time of day! From time to time the house needs a bit of attention too! So cleaning and keeping our home tidy is high on the agenda!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    In return we offer a clean, comfortable room with Netflix within our home, with use of the indoor bathroom and toilet. There is a swimming pool - great at the end of warm sunny summer days - and a wood fired pizza oven which we crank up quite often during the colder months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bridle paths in the area and long picturesque walks where you may spy kangaroos, and 8 minutes drive away is the village with its shops, pub/restaurant, a number of takeaways and Australia Post. The bus goes from the village to Midland, where it hooks up with the train line to Perth, Fremantle and Mandurah. The City of Joondalup is thirty five minutes drive away and has superb shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, night clubs and cinemas. Another 10 minutes further on is Perth's fantastic coastline and the ocean. We are located just a few kilometres north of the Swan Valley, one of WA's famous wine regions and a very popular tourist destination, which has much to offer in terms of restaurants, wineries, chocolate and ice cream factories - it's a gastronomic dream!

    There are hospitals with Emergency departments in both Joondalup and Midland and Doctors' surgeries in the village of Bullsbrook.

    Obviously if you have your own transport, these attractions and facilities are more accessible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of parking space for your car/motor home/caravan,if you have one which would still be very close to the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hrs per day, 5 days per week, as required.

Host ref number: 354552291651

Feedback (16)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.9)

Help our family in our veggie garden, building and DIY projects in Springfield, Taz, Australia
Help with gardening, painting and some other tasks in Cairns, Australia