Join our family and discover local way of life near Paris, France

  • Favourited 331 times
  • Last activity: 1 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Who are we ?

    Hello, we are a happy small family of 4 living in the suburb of Paris. Me and my husband are a little bit more than 30 y-o, our son Gauvain, was born in April 2019 and our daughter Louison was born in October 2022.

    We are living in a house, in a quiet district of Sarcelles. It is 10 minutes walking from the train station, which is connected to Paris (Gare du Nord) in less than 20 minutes.

    I’m very busy with work. I work part-time as a Primary teacher (in a school that is 5 minutes walking from home), I’m also a writer in progress (I’m working on my first novel since 3 years but my purpose is to finish it before 2024, I’ve already started to publish it on Wattpad), I’ve created an association to promote local cultural events for kids and I’m developing it, and I’ll also start a e-learning training on September in order to start a new career in web development. So I’m often at home, but not often available.
    My husband, Guilhem, is Product Owner, he works in Paris from Monday to Wednesday and at home on Thursdays and Fridays.

    Our little boy, Gauvain, goes to school on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. And he has some extracurricular activities during other days (sport and music). Our sweet daughter, Louison, will go to kindergarten when she’s one. For now, she stays at home with me or sometimes with her grandmother (who lives on hour by car from our place).



    📋 What are the tasks ?

    - Bring Gauvain and Louison to school and Kindergarten, and pick them up.
    - Looking after them (playing games, organizing activities, speaking English with them.
    - Taking them to the library on Wednesdays afternoon (on foot and with public transports).
    - Tidy up their toys with them (and not for them).



    📅 How to organize your week ?

    These tasks would take you 22h/week.
    Sometimes (quite infrequently), we could ask you to look after them for an evening, if we have an outing planned. But it will be less than once a month.
    I still don’t know the days worked of my part-time as a teacher, but basically your time would be scheduled as :
    Monday : 8h00 → 9h00 AND 16h20 → 18h40
    Tuesday : 8h00 → 9h00 AND 16h20 → 21h00
    Wednesday : 9h00 → 18h00
    Thursday : 8h00 → 9h00 AND 19h00 → 21h00
    Friday : 8h00 → 9h00



    🎹 What during your free time ?

    First, we are very close to Paris. And there are many things to do in Paris.
    In the house, you can use our facilities :
    - sport equipment in the basement (rowing machine, Kettle Bells, punching ball step,…)
    - bike
    - piano
    - painting
    - TV, WIFI
    - boardgames
    - our small and lovely garden
    Just in a bottom of our street, there is a small stadium and a lovely forest to run or walk, you can reach the Castle of Ecouen in 40 minutes by walking or 15 minutes by biking.
    There are some shopping facilities close to the house (5 minutes by walking).
    There is an Olympic swimming-pool in the city (around 15 minutes by biking).



    🛌 What is provided ?

    You will be provided a private accommodation with a desk, and shared bathroom, meals and a bike if you need.



    🧐 Who are we looking for ?

    ✅ Someone social, smiling and dynamic who loves taking care of children, organizing activities according to the child’s needs and interests, and security.
    ✅ Someone who would like to enjoy the meals with us and spend some time with us, in order to talk, share experiences, interests…
    ✅ Someone with not too many food restrictions (no vegan, vegetarian,…) if you have food allergies or some ingredients you hate, we can deal with them, avoiding a couple of ingredients in our recipes, but we use to eat meat (we actually love it) and it is too complicated and too expansive to prepare two different meals every time. We hope you’ll understand our point of view.
    ✅ Someone for a long term (two months or more). It’s complicated for kids to adapt to a new person so we don’t want to change that person too often.


    Kinds regards,
    Sophie, Guilhem, Gauvain and Louison

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would be pleased to make you discover some parts of France through our way of life, cooking, wine, … We could help you to improve your French if you want so, we could also guide you to visit some areas. And you will have the opportunity to meet our family and friends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Bring Gauvain and Louison to school and Kindergarten, and pick them up.
    - Looking after them (playing games, organizing activities, speaking English with them.
    - Taking them to the library on Wednesdays afternoon (on foot and with public transports).
    - Tidy up their toys with them (and not for them).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private bedroom with shared bathroom, in a modern house, well equipped. We can lend you a computer and a bike if you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time, you can stay at home, play sport using the sport equipment of the house or of the city, discovering Paris (only 30 minutes from home), enjoy our small and lovely garden...
    Our home is well located :
    Sarcelles-St Brice train station is 10 minutes by walking from home.
    Sarcelles-St Brice train station is connected to Paris in 20 minutes (Gare du Nord)
    There are some buses next to the house.
    CDG Airport is 30 minutes by car, so if you arrive there, we could easily pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We provide wifi connection, with optic fibre. There is a desk in the bedrtoom but feel free to work in the living-room if you prefere.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 353234337243

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)