Come and be a part of our family in Gardabaer, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    From July(August 2022)

    For 4-10 weeks.

    We are a family of four, husband and wife, 41 and 35, and two daughters aged 7 and 8. We are looking for a female workawayer that would like to be a part of our family for a while.

    We are both highly educated professionals with a somewhat hectic workday and could really use some assistance with the household. We live in Garðabær, which is a town next to Reykjavik, Iceland's capital.

    The parenting approach we try to practice is called RIE which stands for Respectful Parenting. We consider good communication skills to be highly important in everyday life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Iceland has one of the more spectacular nature of the world and during the winter you have the added bonus of getting to see the Northern Lights. And if you enjoy the outdoors then there are hiking paths close to the area we live in. You would also learn about how the typical family in Iceland lives.

    The swimming pools here are also unique. They are geothermally heated and can be enjoyed outdoors even in the middle of the winter, so be sure to bring your swimsuit. Sitting in a hot tub chatting with friends or strangers, during a dark, freezing afternoon, is just about as Icelandic as it gets.

    Also, if you are interested in learning a bit of Icelandic, then there are courses you can take and we could also help :).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mainly looking for a person that can help us with daily home chores, such as general cleaning, folding laundry, tidying up the children's rooms and the living area, simple meal preparation, maybe some grocery shopping, and such.

    You should also be able to connect with our daughters and spend at least some time each day playing with them. On top of this, we might possibly ask you to assist us with some minor home projects.

    Your workaway hours would be on average about 4-5 a day, with regular 3-4 hours during the morning and over the day where you would take care of the daily chores. We would also like help during dinnertime if you are at home, such as setting the plates and cleaning up after dinner, but if you have plans in the evening and are eating out then that is just fine.

    Once a week or so we would also like you to look after the kids for a few hours while we have a couple's evening.

    You will have the weekends for yourself, but if you are at home with no plans we might also ask you to keep an eye on the kids while we go to the store or take care of some tasks.

    We are also very flexible, so if you have something really exciting planned during the weekdays, we would, of course, give you the day off :). Also, if you need an extended weekend for a trip into the country then we will figure something out.

    Lastly, we want to be absolutely clear that we are expecting someone that is willing to put in the work needed. In return, we will do our best to ensure that your stay here in Iceland will be an enjoyable one.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our home, which is spacious and bright, with good WiFi access. You will share the living room and bathroom with us. You will also be welcome (and encouraged) to eat with us during meal times. We can not accommodate travelers with special dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport from our neighborhood to the city center.

    On your off time, you could visit the city center, go to the Pearl, visit some of the many museums in Reykjavik (two of which are very unique), try to get to know the locals, and more. We would also like to take you with us sightseeing outside of the city during some weekends, but this depends heavily on the weather.

    I'm also told that there is a network of Workaway travelers in Iceland which you can connect with.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 349962814364