Family home, close to Cardiff, Wales. Help in the garden

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Owain and Caz have a large family house and garden in a village about 7km from Cardiff City Centre.

    Our four kids are travelling the World or now have real life jobs after University. When they are away their rooms are free. They have all done the Australia/New Zealand/South America backbacker tours and met some great people. We'd like to open our house to backpacker couples heading this way for short stays of about a week at a time so ideally it is for Workaways who are travelling around and fancy a short break in Wales. We are sorry but we can only accept Workaways now and again for short periods of up to a week since the kids come home quite often and we don't have enough tasks for hosting on an on-going basis.

    The support is a mixture of outside and inside. The garden needs tender loving care so there is some digging and moving soil around. In spring of 2018 we plan to build a summer house so preparation work will be required. Inside we have a couple of bedrooms to paint. We recently build a glass box off the back of the house and that always needs the glass to be cleaned. The help is therefore for travellers who don't mind working inside and out on various projects to improve the house.

    We are a sporty family, Caz plays tennis, I swim, go bike riding and we have a small sailing yacht moored in Cardiff Bay. The kids sometimes come home on weekends when they are hungry. We have a family dog called Mutley who loves workaways.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living with a Welsh family close to the capital city of Wales

  • Help

    Help

    Help will be mainly in the garden and in the house on maintenance/decorating/improvements. The fridge is always full and you can help yourselves. We are flexible on what days you work if you want days off for seeing Wales. We are looking for couples or friends travelling together - shared room if a couple and your own rooms if two boys or two girls.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a five bedroom family house located in a village called Dinas Powys. It is on the outskirts of Cardiff. A large rear garden backs onto woodland. We have spare bikes for getting around but the roads here are pretty busy.

    It is about 500m to the village square where we have 3 pubs, a chinese and indian take-away and a Deli (that's about it!). The train station is a 10 minute walk away and takes you into Cardiff or the other way down to the coastal beaches of Barry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lenth of stays is typically short stays of a week and sorry to say that this will only be on a periodic basis when we have have rooms available and activities that you can support us on.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Glass box on back of house we built in 2017 with help from Workaways helping to build the foundations and frame
Meg pretending to be a Workaways but her painting skills are not as good
Germany workaways cooking tea
Skiing last winter. Visited Meg who worked the season in Val D'Isere
The kids in the school that we support in the Gambia
Workaway chill-out room, TV with NETFLIX, PS3 and lots of traditional family board games
Dinas Powys - on the road between Cardiff & Barry
Two of the village pubs. We don't go there often but the natives are friendly
Cardiff Bay, great for bars and restaurants.
Barry island, 5 miles away, we have bikes, train takes 15 mins.
Woodland paths behind the house. Mutley the dog walking along but hidden on leaves











Host ref number: 349726268141