Camp out in a bus in the Comox Valley, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    475

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a hobby farm in the Comox Valley, Vancouver Island, BC, looking mainly for landscaping and construction help with the accommodation here and also farm projects. We raise sheep and ducks and have an old orchard. At the moment we're hoping to find workaways who are independent and can help with spring tidy up, animal help, fences and some construction. Ideally, you'd be happy to spend a little time doing livestock chores and a bunch of time exploring the area independently, while I'm working. I'm an organic inspector, so sometimes I'm gone overnight. Longer staying guests are probably easier for me. The Comox Valley is at the south end of Strathcona Park, mid-way up the Island on the east coast with beautiful protected beaches, parks and miles of trails right from our door. There's a beautiful beach at the end of our road, and the area is known as a tourism and agritourism destination for seeing the wilderness of the North Island as well as the many festivals and a thriving arts and culinary scene.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I grew up here on this farm, and have lots of local knowledge as well as farming knowledge. Vancouver Island has an interesting history and geography, and offers great opportunities to experience both Nootka and Coast Salish first nations history. Our closest band is K'omoks, who have a lovely new cultural centre to check out. The local museums in Courtenay and Cumberland are also very good, with fossils and other local natural history, First Nations history and early settlement exhibits such as the coal mining and nautical history of the area. There are lots of local artisans such as potters, jewelry makers and more. The culinary scene is also thriving and includes several local food restaurants, a great year round farmers' market, wineries, breweries, meaderies and distillers. There are many parks and wilderness opportunities, our favourites being Paradise Meadows, Seal Bay and Miracle beach (all within 20km!), skiing and snowboarding at Mt Washington Resort and lots of water sport opportunities from the many lakes, rivers and beaches of the Comox Valley and Salish Sea. When you've finished checking out the big island, there are dozens of smaller islands to check out too!! We host the renowned Vancouver Island Music Fest in early July, the WCDES social justice film festival in February, the Filberg Festival, Nautical Days, Elev8 the Arts and many others through the summer- an impressive array of events for such a small population.

  • Help

    Help

    I always have some farm maintenance work to do, such as caring for our sheep and ducks and also fixing stuff up around here. For the most part, we need skilled help with projects like tidying up, fencing, gardening, because I'm getting ready to move. I occasionally have to leave to work away also- sometimes overnight- so ideally you could help with farm chores on those days and hold down the farm. Help with childcare and household stuff would be great too. I'm also happy to have you stay and fend for yourself, as long as you can clean up and do laundry when you go, and maybe pitch in a tiny bit of help for your stay. I work as an organic inspector and agrologist, so I have lots to teach if that's what you're interested in, and I would love to learn from you too!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, ok French, tiny bit of Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a camperized school bus available for stays, fair warning- it has low ceilings! There is a double bed, hot shower, basic kitchen with bar fridge and a cozy sitting nook. I'm pretty flexible about food, in past with guests, we've provided self-serve coffee & tea, basic breakfast food like fruit, oatmeal, and eggs for breakfasts and then on days when we're working together I'd assume make lunch and dinner together. I eat mostly grain free, we raise animals so we are not vegetarian -but we eat ethical meats along with vegetarian and lots of organic. The bus has electricity but no phone or wifi, there's wifi at my place though (next door basically). On the plus side, it's private and you can come and go as you please. We have outdoor pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport options are limited around here, so if you don't bring or rent a car, coordinating rides will be tricky. I will help as much as I can, but you have to be able to drive standard to borrow my truck. The accommodation has no phone, so bring your phone! We have wifi at the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, we're flexible

Host ref number: 348239935578