Help us with our eco house and our organic diary farm in the wild landscape of Palena, Chilean Patagonia

Country

Chile

Favourited 149 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German-Dutch couple with 2 sons, 4 and 2 years old. We are living on a wonderful piece of land far from any city, enjoying good neighborhood and friendship with the chilean people. We are building up our farm of 60ha, building our own eco house and the whole infrastructure and taking care of our animals (4 horses, 6 cows, 2 cats and a dog), as well as growing our vegetables and making our own bred and milk products. We always enjoy the help and company of other people, teaching and learning all about farming and construction.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Simple life with good food in wonderful surrounding far from cities. Possibility to work and learn about gardening, cows, milking and making cheese and bread and eco construcción. Contact and exchange with neighbors and learning about traditional Patagonian (gaucho) life.
    We would like to share a good time together as everything is still very basically and close together and we are 10 km from Palena. Until now it always worked. If you can ride a horse, we have two good horses to discover the wonderful landscape with its mountain and rivers and to meet other people.

  • Help

    Help

    The projects of 2019/20 are the finishing of the inside of the house, the building of the cheesery and as the other years the garden, the children, household and some animal care. So in November/December we would be happy about help in starting the garden; preparing the soil, seeding, planting... Later on wheeting, and... eating!
    Our sons are happy about company. If you can take care of them, we can go on building. Apart from that and according to abilities you can help with the household, cooking and making bred and jogurt. And of course for learning you can join us at any work we do. Of course, the longer you stay the more time we will take for teaching you. I hope you can understand...
    There will be some cows to be milked from January on, but only sometimes to have milk products for our own consumption. We won't be in the whole production chain until we have finished the construction part...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very basic and rustical: a very small and rustical room, outside shower (with warm water when the sun is shining) and outside toilets, small kitchen together with us. It is very small, especially on rainy days; you have to like family life, if you want to stay inside. Outside is plenty space with a roof next to a waterfall, where you can make fire. We eat together a warm lunch and a cold dinner; breakfast when and how everybody likes. From January on we have vegetables from our garden, milk, cheese and yogurt from our cows, self made bred... Sometimes meat. Alcohol and sweets are not included and can be bought ~ once a week in Palena.
    When we move into the new house, the accommodation will be much better! There are two guestrooms in the new house and the room we live in now. Hot shower, plenty of space... A big change!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In free time you can go walking in the mountain, fishing, horse riding (only if you are able to ride) and meeting other people. Or just enjoy the pure nature around us. For transportation come by bus to Palena and we get you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 376757538353