Enjoy an old fashioned way of life. UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a semi- retired active couple who are always busy. We love art, music, history and culture. We also love meeting people from different countries and discussing world issues, particularly about food, farming and the environment.
    Our family occasionally includes our son when he is at home and elderly but active mother who lives nearby.
    We live in an unmodernised Victorian farmhouse with a large garden full of trees, more like a small park. plus fields and paddocks. We have horses trained in natural horsemanship and western riding, a young lively Irish terrier and a tortoiseshell cat. We also host a Riding for the Disabled group (RDA) though at the moment they are having a winter break.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We invite helpers to live in our historic house and to share our enjoyment of history, art, culture and books. We are folk musicians and can introduce you to English folk traditions and customs. Occasionally we host folk concerts at the local village hall. You will be welcome to join us when we attend other events such as poetry evenings and visits to local places of interest. Rugby is the home of Rugby football and Leicester is famous for the reburial of King Richard 3rd.
    We can help you with English language and encourage conversations and discussion.
    Of course the horses are very important as they live next to the house. We prefer people with horse experience but can teach the basics to sensible confident helpers.

  • Help

    Help

    Do you like horses? We need help mostly outdoors doing field maintenance, hedging, pooh picking, helping with horses and gardening.
    We grow a small amount of fruit and vegetables and would love to extend the veg growing. We also need help with general maintenance. We also expect help with some housework and at mealtimes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in our house as part of the family. There is a comfortable bedroom which sleeps one but can be used for two if you are close friends. Sometimes a double room may be available. We expect you to eat with us and we provide all meals whilst you are volunteering here using fresh local produce and home cooked food whenever possible. you can help contribute to cooking by introducing your regional recipes if you wish. We can happily cater for vegetarians as most of our meals are meat free. Our village is fairly quiet and has several small farms a pub but no shop. Only non-smokers accepted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on a bus route between Rugby and Leicester, both of which have historical interest, good shopping and culture. Our local area is very rural and has pleasant walks and pubs. The nearest town is 4 km away. We can often take helpers with us on outings to places of interest or accompanying us to folk and cultural events. Surprisingly there is a roller skating arena a short walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 347443643544