Help with animal care, vegetable growing and renovation on a vegan farm in the beautiful countryside near Gamleby, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a vegan couple who live in a big house in the countryside of south Sweden, surrounded by nature and forest. We are both 26 years old. Our family also includes six cats, four horses and a dog. Our animals are all more or less rescues and we want to provide a safe and loving home for them.
    We are interested in old buildings and the history and culture behind them. Our house, for example, is 170 years old and over the years we want to restore it carefully using reused or eco-friendly materials as far as possible and with the history of the building in mind.
    As a way to live more sustainable we have an organic vegetable garden where we grow a lot of food, working on being self sufficient on greens and vegetables all year round (not quite there yet). It's such a joy harvesting our home grown, high quality food and making it into delicious vegan meals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will take part of the nice and quiet life close to nature. You will get insight in our animal friendly lifestyle as well as getting some experience in vegetable growing and renovating/taking care of an old building. We believe in a simple life and caring about animals, nature and the planet. You have the chance to learn more about the animals and their natural behavior if interested.
    The area we live in is beautiful with the forest outside the window and lots of small lakes nearby. It is also interesting from a cultural history perspective, as this is the homeland of Astrid Lindgren and many of the characters in her books. Astrid Lindgrens Värld is located only 45 minutes away. The nearest town Gamleby is a nice summer town with an old square and second hand shops.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with various things, depending on season, ongoing projects and your own interests.
    A lot of the work will be outside caring for the animals, walking the dog, feeding the horses and mucking out, garden work, taking care of the harvest, mowing the lawn etc. And a lot of cuddles with the animals of course, whenever they feel like it.
    Currently the highest priority is finishing the horse barn that we started on a while back (an open barn where the horses can decide by themselves when to be inside or outside, simple construction).
    We would also love some help with cooking, cleaning and organizing stuff in the house.
    We need help approximately 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Not on a strict schedule though, so it's good if you are a bit flexible as a person.
    We can host up to two people at a time, provided you can share room and double bed.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As a workawayer you will stay in the main house with us. You get your own bedroom with double bed and a desk, and you will share toilets, bathroom, kitchen and living areas with us.
    Regarding food, we make dinner and eat together in the evenings. Other meals we eat together if it suits the schedule, otherwise you will make your own (plant based) food in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can enjoy hikes in the forest, have a glass of wine on the veranda or anything in between. Or why not go for a swim in the nearby lake. We also have a piano and lots of space for painting or other crafts and art forms. Here is basically no public transport, but if one of our two cars are available you can borrow it to go see the surrounding area. You are also welcome to come along whenever we are going to town to do grocery shopping or run errands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 344984349128