Help us discover permaculture and learn to live off our land in Picton, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are city folk trying to learn the rural life, doing our best to live a sustainably. We used to run a boutique hotel in Downtown Montreal, and decided to take advantage of the slowness brought onto us from COVID-19. We've always dreamed of giving our 8 and 11 year-olds a rural upbringing, and the pandemic afforded us the time to reflect on what we wanted for our family.

    Now we plan to explore our cultural roots, to live off the land, and to grow what we eat. The plan is to build a small homestead on our 2 acres of land. We will have egg laying chickens, and will focus on permaculture, biodiversity, and natural farming techniques.

    We have brought on 2 pups into our family as well. They are Great Pyrénées, learning to protect our homestead.

    Help us build a beautiful farmstead in the beautiful county!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family with kids, dogs, and chickens. We love to cook together and eat together. We used to run a boutique hotel and specialty cafe in downtown, but are now exploring farm life and trying to sustain ourselves on. our land.

    We are adventurous, and love to learn and show our kids the different facets of life around the world. You could learn about the Hmong people, how to make beer, some woodworking, home maintenance, dog care, how to run a hotel, or how to make a killer espresso. We love all sorts of random stuff.

  • Help

    Help

    We just need general help around the house and homestead, in whatever areas you are comfortable in. Help us discover permaculture and learn to live off our land. We will need help building, taking care of animals, gardening, and lots of general maintenance work.

    Projects to renovate the house are also in the plans. Expect physical tasks!


    In general, we expect a trade of 10-15 hours a week. We are flexible on how we can split this up.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are Anglophones from Quebec, so though we know our French, we'd like to not lose it! Hans is Chinese, but our kids don't speak any of it. Maybe it's time to teach them?

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a camping trailer with full privacy. It’s under renovations right now, but you can see a picture of it above.

    We used to run a hotel, so you can expect to be comfortable!

    You are welcome to join us in family dinners as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Preferably non smokers please, thanks!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We will have internet connection, but please note that it is rural internet, meaning that it won't be blazing fast!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Max size we would accept would be a Sprinter or the like.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We will have dogs and chickens around the farm. We'd love to see more animals around, but you must keep them leashed and supervised at all times.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours/week


Host ref number: 344767652257