Looking for some help on our property with gardening, 35 mins South of Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are looking for help on our 25 acre property, 4 acres of which are cultivated.

    We are building a new 4 acre garden on our north facing land which was an apple farm and plan to give the rest of the acres a park-like feel. We have kept about 100 apple trees, which we have to prune drastically this year. We have been here for 4 years and the garden is coming on quite nicely.
    We are both gardeners, my husband is a photographer and I am a goldsmith. We are supposed to be retired, but don't seem to get around to it. We had been in business all our time together (44 years) until we retired to Tasmania from Queensland 14 years ago.

    We have very comfortable accommodation - I cook constantly, as do most of our lovely neighbours. We are near The Woodbridge Smokehouse with beautiful sea views. It is very tranquil.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are great travellers ourselves and have had many wonderful experiences worldwide for many years. We therefore are in tune with Workawayers and try to give them the best visit they could possibly have. Food, art and culture are high priorities along with a sense of humour and a chat over a good bottle of wine. What goes around comes around...

  • Help

    Help

    Hours worked are usually 9-2 Mon - Fri ... or by arrangement. We don't mind swapping days if you want to go somewhere special.
    We only accept non-smokers.
    Help needed to establish the garden in the 4 acres that we have fenced off. Some assistance in the day to day running of the house - cleaning, washing up etc.
    Be kind to the cat.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English / French/ some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lovely double room with a very comfortable bed and bathroom and toilet close by

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a very tranquil area 35 mins south of Hobart. A car or motorbike would be essential, as there is a bus service, but it is not frequent. The bus stop is 10 mins walk from the house.
    We have had volunteers many times before and they have had a great time with us, but you really do need transport in my opinion, to be independent in your time off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 588238335892