Get to know our way of life while helping at our home in Ilulissat, Greenland

Country

Greenland

Favourited 273 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Currently with corona virus tourism business in Greenland in danger. Only few countries allowed to enter to Greenland, for most EU countries forbidden to enter Greenland. We don't know when government open the borders again.
    For more updates stay in touch and message us and we'll give you our IG handle
    My name is Ivan. Now I live with girlfriend and sometimes have visitors from different countries . I am adventure guide in Greenland and taxi driver as well . I have houses in Aasiaat and Ilulissat in Greenland. I am developing adventure tourism in disco bay in Greenland. I need volunteers able to help to renovate an old houses and do some carpentry work and sometimes participate in short expeditions and preparations for adventure tours in winter and summer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to get to know Greenland that is the best way for you. You will learn greenlandic history, meet local fishermen, hunters, and famous greenlandic sleddogs, experience greenlandic culture from inside. Volunteers will learn to drive snowmobiles, built real Iglo, and many more practiacal stuff.

  • Help

    Help

    I am renovating old houses in Greenland. One of them belonged to Jørgen Brønlund located in Aasiaat, Jørgen Brønlund was one of the first polar explorers in Greenland. I needed handy people. I am going to build winter tents camp, and a couple of Iglo in the wilderness close to the icefjord near Ilulissat in Greenland. I am looking for soulmate voluteers, tough people who is able to participate in exploration by snowmobiles, boat, skiing, hiking, sleep in the tent in winter time, cook food, do shopping and help with different orders. If you want to challenge yourself, that volunteer job is definitely for you!
    Appreciated iceclimbing, climbing, kajaking, hiking, surviving skills, carpener and mechanical knowledge.
    Possible employment assistance in Greenland in future!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Kalaallisut, Greenlandic: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to learn more different languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have one room that I can offer in Ilulissat. House has 2 bedrooms and huge living room kitchen. House in Ilulissat have already a tap water from the tank , i am fixing it now
    . House in Aasiaat has a room on the second floor and living room, most of the time we will stay together in the house but sometimes you will stay alone when I need to travel. I will pay common food, and house expenses!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My work is adventure, so I never get tired . Volunteers will have flexible schedule, when we are in the town they can go to fitness, sauna, do shopping. Meet locals learn the language, hike, sail and etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good speed of internet

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours a day, 2 day off


Host ref number: 344442154928