Help with renovations and babysitting for an English-Slovak couple in the countryside, Mayenne, France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/04/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    English-Slovak couple living in France for 18 months with our little son (almost 1year old). Slowly improving our house and its surroundings in beautiful countryside. Martin is a retired builder. Misha used to work in UK as self employed child carer, household helper, gardener (and various similar jobs). Now we stay at home - in our house which we have bought in 2017. Martin is renovating it step by step where needed. Misha is keen organic gardener, but didn't have that much time since Oskar was born; but still managed to grow some nice veggies in her polytunnel. We're interested to learn more about permaculture. We are about 2,5hours away from Paris. We have 6 chickens and 1duck. Misha has some experience with workawaying (3 families in UK a few years ago).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve or learn English or Slovak language or learn a bit about our culture (also French culture). Toddler care, gardening or building experience. Stay in peaceful place.

  • Help

    Help

    To help Martin with house renovation, To help Misha with a babysitting, some cleaning, work in the garden etc. Also maybe to teach us some French.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Slovak, English, Polish, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Furnished caravan with heating but no functional toilet or shower - that would be right next to the caravan in the house. Or our spacious living room with a wood burner, futon and sofa bed included. We have a land big enough for your mobile home or any other alternative living. Smoking outside only (we prefer non smokers or light smokers).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No public transport around our place. The closest possible busses are about 15km. Although there will be an opportunity to see some places nearby when one of will take you with our car. We would be happy to have chat about warious topics over the wine (or non alco beverage if you prefer) some evenings. There is also quite a big age difference between us, but it works so far :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 344325948321