Garden and building help in a medieval village in the heart of the Aveyron, France

Country

France

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Offering you the opportunity to experience living in a rural community.To improve your French.
    20 mins from Millau,at 800m altitude.The castle dates from 750AD.A priory,two roman churches,cript,ramparts,three water mills and views over the Raspes & Muse valleys to the Millau viaduct.Popular with photographers,artists,walkers,cyclists,there is also;horse riding. Lots of history.Very close to everything;lakes,beaches,the gorge du Tarn & the Raspes gorge,Couvertoirade,Brosse-le-chateau,Saint Beauzely,Rodez,Saint Affrique,Roquefort! Plenty of festivals,Markets,Concerts,Truffles,mushrooms and vineyards!
    Permaculture is being setup in one garden once the terraces are created.And there is a natural drip-fed stone well.A natural pool soon to be added.Preparation of ground and planting seeds......
    *explore and soak up the culture,experience Aveyronnais food. *learn or improve your French.*beautiful clean unpolluted air and nature all around you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be in the heart of the Aveyron! The village was once the capitol of the region,steeped in history with the Levezou Rouergue nobles.I have got to know many artists,musicians and people from the surrounding villages,and we are very active with the festivals,reviving old traditions;fete du truffles,fete de cochon,feu de St Jean etc.Band 'Echo des Avens',The Mill Saint George du Luzencon. We often socialise. The village generations go back a long way,and the grandchildren have returned to rebuild the ruins and now the village has 30 children.It is very French.A great opportunity to soak up French culture.Farms with brebis sheep providing milk to make the roquefort cheese plus aubrac cows for beef.We have several hamlets with fantastic cycle/walking routes,which take 1-7 hours,small private airfield,springs,grocery stores,churches,museums......

  • Help

    Help

    General help with finishing a cupboard,insulating the attic,cutting & screwing down planks on terrace plus make folding extension.

    Skills;using manual or power tools.Sanding,painting, tiling,plumbing.
    Cellar:Water supply to toilet and basin.Replace pipe and taps.Tile floor in store area 2mx3m with octagonal terracotta tiles.

    Volunteer jobs:
    Help with-
    *digging in garden
    *putting up shelves
    *screw down terrace boards outside- need to be fixed into concrete base already there
    *sand & paint bedroom ceilings
    *plastering-lime and hemp

    Paid jobs:
    To do the job on your own-
    *make complete terrace extension of 2mx7m raised to 50cm adjustable feet including folding sections
    *make wooden glazed door & window to cellar shop
    *tiling
    *plumbing
    electrical jobs

    If you think you are able to do any of the above,please let me know ie see the list of either Swap or Paid jobs. Let me know the level of your experience,so we can decide what you are happy doing. We can then agree how long it will take to do each job and which days you work and which days you take off.

    I am generally very flexible when it comes to evening meal times,so we can arrange a suitable time,for you to enjoy your evenings.
    *If you are working for payment you will need the necessary visas for France! * your meals are your responsibility.
    If there are any festivals or markets or other activities of interest,I'll be happy to show you. There are no buses or trains up here,but there is a school/community bus which goes to Millau and back.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    First floor:Livingroom,kitchen/diner,toilet. Second floor:4 bedrooms.
    Room on southside with double bed 2mx140cm,dressing table,hanging rail and bedside drawers,desk and chair, shared bathroom.
    I will supply your linen. You will be able to use the kitchen to cook or you can join me to eat,if you are volunteering.I have a fridge and freezer,a large 6 burner range with 3 ovens,grill,microwave,halogen table grill,fondu,pressure cooker etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Montjaux:14 fountains,grocery store/restaurant,walks to here. Saint Beauzely:chateau/museum,restaurant,priory,walks to here,doctor/nurse.Castelmus:priory,brewery-La Muse,walks to here.Moulibez:riding centre,walks to here.Sahut:Airfield paragliding,brebis farm cheese.Bouloc:grocery store,walks to here.Saint Rome-du-Tarn:restaurants,water sport centre/beach restaurant,pharmacist,museum,walled town,waterfall,beaches,river Tarn-fishing,swimming,canoes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 142567584956