We are a family of four living in Somerset in the south west of England looking for some gardening help

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in Somerset in the south west of England. Two adults and one five year old boy and newborn baby girl. A dog and two cats. We are interested in permaculture, kitchen herbalism, fermentation, woodworking and trying to be as self sufficient as possible. We have been renovating our house ourselves for two years and have lots of projects to finish including a bread oven, pond and wildlife area, herb garden and ongoing vegetable beds to tend. Its a small plot but we are working towards being as productive as possible in our garden and becoming more of micro homestead!. We are a fun family and homeschool our five year old boy, we try to live as freely as possible whilst being conscious about our footprint on the earth. We often go on seasonal foraging trips and walks to harvest herbs and wild food and be part of nature as much as possible. We try to work hard, but balance this with lots of fun and spontaneity. We welcome language speakers and people who like being around children and animals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Speaking English, sourdough bread making, green wood carving, carpentry skills, gardening skills, cooking, building skills (traditional and modern) kitchen herbalism and some medicine making. There are lots of local farms in the area we have links with and we regularly visit the farmers market.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help to finish a number of projects in the garden including: veg bed preparing, building a cob bread oven, general gardening, pond building, herb planting, carpentry/green wood working. Everyday chores such as dog walking, some possible child care, cooking, preserving/canning, firewood chopping, bread making, fermentation. We also have a building project which is about to start, so labouring help with this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin in our garden that has a double futon bed. It's a light and a beautiful space and off grid! It has a wood burning stove and is well insulated. Bathroom facilities are in the main house and we have all the usual modern conveniences including wifi. We would share a simple meal at lunchtime or sometimes in the evening and to cook for yourself the rest of the time, with provisions for breakfast and snacks. We home cook most of the time with very little 'fast food'. We also have a fire pit outside the cabin for those who like to cook over an open fire. We try to use this as much as possible when the weather is dry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bus links to the two local towns - Wellington/Wiveliscombe and to Taunton. Taunton train station connects easily with the rest of the country and major cities such as Bristol, Exeter and London for day trips. There are lots of great local walks and we are close to the Quantocks, Blackdown Hills and Dartmoor and Exmoor national parks. We go to the beach sometimes and/or local rivers fairly often and we enjoy wild swimming throughout the year.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 342289756585