updated  

Help on a small organic farm on the beautiful and quiet Island of Föglö, Aland Islands

  • Finland
  • Favourited 677 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am running a small organic farm on the Island of Föglö, belonging to the Aland Islands between Sweden and Finland. I have 4 horses, a very friendly dog, chicken and rabbits. I have some fields for the horses, I grow hay and I have a garden for vegetables, fruit trees and berries. To the family belongs me, Karin, who is a former riding-teacher, nowadays just staying at home because of my reuma, my daughter Viola living on a farm nearby with her ponies and dogs, and 3 grown-up sons, sometimes visiting me.
    I play folksmusic on the violin.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The surroundings are beautiful and quiet, the people living here love the nature, fishing and hunting. We have ferries connecting to east and west. We speak Swedish.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello and welcome here to my farm if you are the right person. To fit in here you need to be responsibel, animallover, not afraid of gardening, fencing, painting a.s.o. I can not teach you everything in a short time, you need to have some experience of countrylife! Even though I have horses you will probably not be able to ride -the horses are young, or competing.
    The farm is in the middle of nature and life and work here is depending on the weather. Ecological lifestyle -woodenheated house, trying not to waiste our resources more than necessary. We are short of water on the Islands in Summer and I have only a digged well, be prepared to save water! We hade a lake nearby though where me and my dog swim almost every day.
    I have a beautiful old wooden boat, Doris, used for fishing and excursions. I play folks music with friends around Åland and some weekends we compete the horses in dressage and showjumping. As volunteer you are welcome to join!

    Please contact me if you think you are the right person! I am looking for one person, not a couple or a family. To bring your own dog here is no possible, my old dog Della wants to be the only dog on the farm..

  • Languages spoken

    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A cottage nearby the house. Outdoor toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can google on Föglö, our Island. I can pick you up in Mariehamn, the only city on Åland, there are ferries connecting to Stockholm, Turku and Helsinki. It is also possible to come with a small, free ferry directly to Överö, Föglö, from Korpo, Finland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Here are some beautiful quiet fields to camp on but toilet in that case?

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 341581955733

Feedback (10)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.0)













Join our community and help with organic gardening and DIY projects in Mustio, Finland
Join me and help me with my hobby farm and chores around my home in Alahärmä, Finland