Join our family home in Dingle peninsula, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This summer we are building a yurt.
    It will go up in a boggy corner of the one-acre site, that we are rehabilitating - clearing deadwood, brambles and plastic. It was totally saturated down there by a submerged well. We have dug it out to drain the place and now have good water too!
    Our son is 14-month-old mischievous angel creature who loves splish splashin, bing banging and scuttering the table. We are living in the old presbytery in the village of Annascaul on the Dingle peninsula in the West of Ireland. It is a place of extraordinary natural beauty. We have chickens, a cat, a polytunnel and a few raised beds, our own well and trees. We eat organic, (mostly) vegetarian (except on special occasions.) We are involved with local environmental groups campaigning on plastic and wireless technologies. I am an artist, writer of articles, poetry, performance. Diarmuid works as sports journalist and well-being facilitator. We run Irish language retreats, forage wild food, swim in the ocean as much as possible and strive to pay attention to the Divine Comedy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the Dingle peninsula, a place where the Irish language and traditional music is very strong. Annascaul is buzzing in the summer and there is trad in the local pubs. We are socially and politically active so anyone who stays with us will learn much about contemporary Irish society. You will also learn about wild food.

  • Help

    Help

    We wish for a person who can tune into and explore with this small avatar we are raising. I am breastfeeding so it wouldn't be for any long periods, just a walk in nature. Also we are building a yurt this summer down in the wooded corner so a strong manual person would be particularly welcome. Its a small place so the work is satisfying and varied work, no repetitive tasks. If there is a technically minded person we have two websites under construction - for our business ventures and we could use help on that. There is other work in the garden sowing, planting, weeding, watering, talking to the plants. Housework of course. We love cooking but the kitchen is open to all.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Its a beautiful old house, with wood paneling and high ceilings. There are two bright spare rooms upstairs. One large spacious double room facing west and one small box room with a skylight. It is a quiet place, no electrosmog, guests always sleep well here. There is oil heating and two good stoves so its warm in the winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the village of Abhainn na Scail meaning the River of Reflections. We are a ten minute walk to the coast where we swim at a small pier or a 15 minute cycle to Inch beach - a very long strand backed by dunes, which was voted best in the country. 15 minutes the other direction is the Abhainn na Scail lake and mountains. There is a bike here you may use, we drive to Dingle town frequently, hitching is easy and safe, public transport is pricey.

    We have a wired internet connection that you can connect your laptop to through the sockets but we ask you not to use your smart phone or wifi in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 336215966445