Help a warm, chaotic family at our hobby farm in beautiful Blekinge, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    67.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5; Hilda (37, self-employed journalist & editor), Fredrik (36, runs a small industry company), Arvid (7, loves lego, fishing and crafts), Märta (5, loves ballet, insects and old people) and Vera (3, loves animals, making funny faces and jokes)
    We live in an old farm in the north of Blekinge with our two dogs Charlie and Kajsa, the barn-cat Allan, 2 horses Blossi and Brunte, Two cows Teddi and Freddi and around 45 Sheep (and probably 120 with the lambs during summer season)

    The farm is about 40 acres with two lakes (We have our own boat, swimming place and a sauna by the lake) and mostly meadows with old oak trees. We are always building and fixing something, at the moment its lambing season (february-april) which means constantly checking on the sheep, helping by birth, and allways a few bottle lambs that needs to be fed every few hours)
    We´re also building a new barn, renovating two guest houses on the farm, and taking care of the landscape, fences and garden (not so much, there is usually no time, but you are very welcome to do gardening if you have green fingers).
    We both work full time "dayjobs", so there is always need for extra help, from some really hard physical work if you´re into that - to just walking the dogs, taking the horses for a ride or entertaining the kids while we do the work :)
    Also all the endless household work as picking up toys, cooking, doing dishes, laundry, hoovering, organizing the cupboards, and all those "million things" that we don´t have time to do often enough like riding the horses, walking the dogs, gardening, picking the apples, painting, changing fences, fishing with Arvid, playing with the girls, cleaning the barn, cuddle the sheep, organizing the tools in the shed etc etc, there is always something to do, life in our place can be as busy as you make it.
    We are an open, loving, warm social bunch with a generous way of thinking. If you need something - we will try to fix it. We will take you out exploring and showing the area as much as we can. You can usually choose your projects, or just help out with whatever we are doing if you want to learn something in particular. If you don´t want to work some days - its no problem, you´ll probably make up for it some other day.
    If you like staying close to nature, love "ad hoc" plans, hanging out outside, kids, animals, good conversation, lots of freedom, learning about farm living, have lots of humour, and don´t mind if it gets a bit chaotic sometimes (like a house turned up side down by kids or chasing loose sheep) you´ll probably love it in our farm!
    If you are warm, positive, fun and happy to help with whatever needs to be done, we will probably love having you in our home!
    We had a few experiences with workawayers this winter and learned this:
    A lot of people applying are vegetarians or vegans - and were not. We are meat producing farmers. Even though it was quite fun to cook vegan for a month, it was also a lot of extra planning and work, so we would prefer to host someone who eats most things. Vegetarian is fine, but then you´ll have to be able to cook by yourself from time to time.
    Farm stay is an exciting experience - off course - but since we have a lot of different animals, we really need someone who has a bit of experience with animals or really loves animals. The best is if you have ridning/stable experience and enjoy some hard/dirty work. We enjoy it a lot ourselves, but sometimes the time is not enough.
    During weekdays we are usually off to work all day, and you will be home alone in the farm. If you are travelling alone, you have to like the solitude, and be happy with hanging out with the animals, riding, walking the dogs, cuddling the sheep, or finding tasks or hobbys to do on your own in the house. Otherwise, we would prefer to host 2 friends or a couple, so you aren´t feeling too isolated or lonely during your stay.
    Experience with kids and basic swedish skills is a great plus - the kids are really social and love new people but they dont speak english.
    Our kids are very independent, despite their age, so we are not really "watching" them at home, they do what they please (which can get messy if they decide to do something messy) So babysitting in our house means playing games and spending time with the kids out of fun, not "watch" them. Sometimes it means beeing home in the night while they sleep if we need to work or go somewhere. They sleep from around seven and almost never wake up.

    PS: On march 19th - I (Hilda) will have a hand surgery, so 6-8 weeks after that I will not be able to lift heavy or move my hand properly. This means we are in extra big need of someone who can help with the daily farm work - especially giving the animals food and water, from the middle of march and whole april.

    Hope to meet some great new people!

    Hilda, Fredrik, Arvid, Märta & Vera.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Warm, open family, living in a beautiful, rural part of Sweden. Learn how to take care of horses, sheep, cows, learn renovation and nature care, also hang out with two funny, a bit crazy parents and three very social, warm kids. Learn Swedish, culture, maybe sheep cutting, horse riding, renovating and traditional farm tasks - nucking, fencing, fixing things. Live near the nature in a small Swedish village and hang out by the lake, in the sauna, in the woods or just in our cosy kitchen chatting with us, cooking or playing with the kids :)

  • Help

    Help

    We really love our life here, but with three small kids and full time jobs its sometimes hard to find time and motivation to do all the stuff you want to. For me (Hilda) it would be great just to have an adult sleeping in the house in the morning when Fredrik left for work so I could go for a morning walk/run with the dogs without leaving the kids alone. For Fredrik it can be helpful to have some company just to find the energy get started on a project. Help out is watching a movie with the kids while we work outside, ride the horses, feed the sheep, go to buy milk, fix dinner, cut the lawn, organize something, do some household work or heavy farm work. It doesnt really matter, as long as you are ready to help when needed.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in a small guest house in the garden, new built with electricity, but The toilet/shower is in our house. We usually eat brekfast early in weekdays but dinner together every night. We´re off to work/kindergarden/school daytime, so you'll fix your own breakfast/lunch/snacks in our kitchen. You will be a part of our family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a pretty rural area so you have to use a car or a bike to get to public transport (we have bikes to borrow). Its the perfect place if you like nature, riding, walking in the woods, swiming in the lake, biking, hiking, fishing, sauna baths etc and gettiing your hands dirty with physical work. We usually dont need both our cars on evenings and weekends, so you can borrow one if you have a licence and want to go "explore". Nearest towns are Vissefjärda and Holmsjö (small but with food stores, cafes and train stations), around 7 km away. Lots of beautiful sights in the area, Glass Kingdom, coastal Citys Karlskrona and Kalmar, Island Öland is a 1 hour + drive away. We live a busy life, meaning lots of work both on the farm and at our dayjobs, so expect a lot of alone time during weekdays. When we are home were constantly doing renovation projects on the farm and stuff with the animals, such as feeding, cleaning, filling water, building, fencing, cutting sheep, riding. We usually stay home in weekends, but sometimes go off on adventures or seeing friends and family. We´re also off a few nights every week to activities with the kids, swimming, sports etc (which you are welcome to attend)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 719149422677