Experience small town Italian life and help out with a sports center project one hour north of Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear travelers,

    We are looking for adventurous people who would like to help out in our home and personal properties, which are located next to an outdoor swimming pool and tennis club that we manage. We are located approximately one hour north of Rome.

    Our home and the sports center are located in the countryside, in between two small towns to the north of Rome. The place has lots of nature and the sports center next to us includes a 25m outdoor swimming pool, 3 red clay court tennis courts, a small restaurant & cafe bar, gazebos, bathrooms/showers and quite a few green areas. Most of the living space is also outdoors. The swimming pool is now closed for the season so it is much less busy but tennis players are almost always welcome!

    We would like a little help with normal tasks at home such as taking care of animals, cooking meals, and generally keep all spaces looking nicely, and anything else you enjoy doing would be helpful for us and hopefully and interesting experience for you.

    During your free time, there are some nearby small towns such as Sant'Oreste, which is famous for it's world war II / Cold War tunnels and nice views, or there are other small towns around such as Fiano Romano and Capena, which are about 10/15 mins away by bus. There is public transportation to Rome from here and it takes about 1.5hrs to get there. The roads outside of here are winding and can be dangerous to walk on, so if you are coming here to visit Rome frequently this may not be the best host for you.

    Besides visiting nearby attractions, on your free time you can also enjoy the sun, swimming (in summer
    Only) , tennis, basketball, ping pong and other outdoor activities.

    Primary languages are Italian and English, if you spend time helping here you will probably learn some Italian pretty quickly also while interacting with customers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have a chance to experience the smaller town italian rural and outdoors life. Some of the locals don't speak any english so this could also be an opportunity to communicate in italian, but english will most likely be the primary language. My family has also lived in different countries so we hope we will be able to share our cultural experiences with yours.

  • Help

    Help

    Our general philosophy is to do a type of activity that you enjoy and do it as best as you can. As long as you are honest with yourselves and us, anything you do will be of help.

    All help will be related to our home and not to the business. Examples of the tasks are painting, cooking, cleaning, building wood projects, gardening, fixing things and interacting with locals.

    We have 2 dogs and 7 cats so if you're afraid of dogs this a great opportunity to overcome your fears....they are all friendly.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English primarily, and Italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation may be a room in a small house or a tent with a mattress if during summer. As for as meals, we provide breakfast, lunch and dinner, and usually everyone helps out with the cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As described the place is a bit isolated, on your days off you can easily travel to Rome but it takes a bit more effort than hopping on a train (see above).

    Happy travels and thanks for reading!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 335978458838