Help us with projects on our property on the famous Route 66 near Barstow, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 141 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a husband-and-wife with seven children, but now we are empty nesters. We love opening our home to people who are traveling to see America and wanting to improve their English.
    We live in Southern California in the Mojave Desert, which is a valley surrounded by mountains on the famous Route 66.

    Our religious beliefs are christian, based on the teaching of the Bible, however, we love to host all beliefs. We do not drink alcohol or smoke in our home.

    The help we need will be projects around our 10 acre property: yard work, painting, cooking, cleaning, etc. We would like for our guests to be immersed in our lives as much as possible. You can go with us wherever we go. We love to cook, play games and spend time outside. We are very involved in church, and during the summer involved in kids camps. Come and see the beautiful desert in California and enjoy spending time with our family, getting to know our friends and swim in our pool. We look forward to meeting you.

    Because of our space we would like to host up to seven workawayers. Girls will share bedrooms and bathrooms with girls, and boys will share bedrooms and bathrooms with boys.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak only English, but would love to help anyone improve their English. The benefit you will receive during your stay is to get to know people from a different culture and experience our life style and how the environment is effected in the desert with different walks of people. We are involved in a group that is trying to grow native flora and fruits and vegetables. However, it is very limited, but you can be involved in that if it is active during your stay. There are some nearby hikes such as Odessa canyon and Saw Tooth Canyon, where some people like to rock climb. We also have Calico Ghost Town nearby and Liberty Sculpture Park which is free and interesting to see. We like to cook as healthy as we can and enjoy all cuisine. We can cook vegan or gluten free, however we enjoy all foods in our home. We network with the people in our community and share foods that are grown or given to the lower income areas and like to use what is given to us and not be wasteful. Come and experience the benefits of hard work, rest, leisure and sight seeing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are always doing home improvements around our home and property. Sometimes there might be help that involves digging, building, painting and gardening and other times it might simply be cleaning.

    Our family likes to do volunteer work in our community, and if we are involved in that work, we would want you to be involved with us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Girls possibly from different countries in one room. Boys in the other. One boys bathroom and one girls bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live two hours from Las Vegas and Disneyland; and 2.5 hours from San Diego, Sea World, and many ocean beaches. There is public transportation to all of these places.
    We live on the famous Route 66 near Barstow. We also have a ghost town near us with hiking trails.
    We have the most beautiful star gazing you will ever see. The brilliance of the stars in our open skies is incredible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a hook up on our property that you could use during your stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 335569774183