Help us fulfill our dreams in the gardens of our renovated farmhouse in a little village near Ghent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a renovated farm house in a little village 10km away from the city of Ghent. I am Hans. I used teach IT, but since a few years started my own social enterprise which makes furniture while giving opportunities to refugees. I love traveling, making music and cooking. My wife Lobke is independent psychologist and loves gardening. We have a large garden with an organic vegetable garden, a wild flower garden and some animals. We have 2 daughters Sterre and Billie who are 12 and 8 yrs old and are into basketball (we have a very small pitch in our garden). We highly value a sustainable way of living.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have experience with building with sustainable materials, organic gardening, working with wood, cooking and making and recording music. We have been living all of our lives in the regions of Bruges and Ghent, so we sure be able to tell you a thing or 2 about that too :).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have plans and dreams for our house and garden :). There's this big stable house where we already made a small music studio, but where we still have lots of plans for and there's a lot of stuff to do in garden. One day we would like to make our own natural pool, outdoor sauna and pizza oven.

    We're looking for people who love working in the garden or help building, are handy, and can work independently if turns out so. We won't be there all the time. We love sharing, talking, hanging out and working together, but also are fond of our private space at times - life with 2 children and work can be busy at times.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be staying in a Gypsy wagon and have a private section of the garden to yourself. There's a basic kitchen in the stable. Toilet and shower is out doors at the moment. All meals are included. We have local beers in the fridge at small cost. We like to aim at sharing diner togethers and see how the rest works out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're 10km away from Ghent, easy on public transport or by bike. Flanders is a small place, so also Bruges, Antwerp or Brussels are easily visited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 335353124137