Small sheep, goat and cow "cheese" dairy with wildlife refuge in the States

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 532 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small rural family that lives in northwestern Wi, approx 90 miles south of Lake Superior in what is commonly referred to as "God's"country. We maintain our farm as a TRUMP FREE ZONE! We live on a 200 acre farm, half of which is dedicated as a wildlife refuge and we enjoy nature and good food and believe in leaving the earth better than how we found it... the PERFECT spot to hide out from crazy and insane politics!
    We are not fancy in any way, in fact we are pretty rustic ( and very small) and aim for as much self sufficiency as we can accomplish. One of our personal goals is to help to preserve the small family farms of northern Wisconsin, and in doing so, help to preserve the north woods and all it's critters.
    We are artisan cheese makers and do our best to capture the flavor of the north woods in our cheese through grazing our dairy animals on the natural flora.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will learn how to exist in a simplified lifestyle that embraces good home cooked food, nature, and the art of coexistence with our environment (including the resident animals), a greater sense of self esteem and self reliance is an added bonus!


    .

  • Help

    Help

    Our farm is low tech and predator friendly , we farm with approx 8 livestock guardian dogs (for predator control) for sheep and goat protection, and one border collie used for herding sheep. Daily chores could include helping to move sheep and goats to pastures, watering and feeding the livestock and dogs, and help keeping the milk house tidy. We REALLY also need help with getting the yard in shape (weed whipping and maybe mowing ) If you aren't into farming but are good with tools and construction you are also welcome! If you like doing housework...you are MORE than welcome ! :-) You need to like being with dogs but don't need to be an expert, just need to be willing. Help preparing meals when needed is great if you are so inclined. We make amazing wood fired pizza (a couple of times a month in the summer/fall), if you would like to help with the pizza or in the house that is also possible. We raise the sheep, cows and goats organically on an almost exclusive pasture grazing basis. The goats LOVE being taken for a walk so they can browse new places!!!
    A month would be great, longer is possible too. ...in the fall and winter we accept shorter stays.
    We are a single family farm and there is always something to do, any interested helper needs to be self motivated (when the task is understood), have a sense of humor and be non judgmental ....patience and even temperament with animals are essential.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a tiny bit of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    (Northwestern Wisconsin, 90 miles south of Superior Wi.)
    If you love wildlife, this is a great place to sit back and watch as the critters are abundant here! We are a 200 acre pasture based dairy sheep operation (100 acres dedicated to wildlife refuge) located in lake country (8 small lakes within two miles of farm), 10 miles south of the Crex Meadows 30,000 acre wildlife refuge and five miles from Governor Knowles state forest.

    Home is an old farmhouse and one bath.( we also have an outdoor composting toilet if needed)
    Everyone chips in with the housework (none of us really likes to do it, but it has to be done ;-)
    We speak English, and really butcher the heck out of Portuguese and Spanish (nothing to rely on !) As far as diet goes, we eat almost anything (as long as it tastes really good) and also know how to cook for a wheat free diet.
    We are known for our raw milk cave aged cheese...we are REALLY into flavor!!! Lacto-Ovo vegetarians thrive here,(as do meat eaters) but Vegans would perish! We have one bedroom with a double sized bed, and one bedroom with a single bed and an overstuffed chair. Each visitor gets his/her own room and of course meals. This is a pretty rustic old home, in fact, this is a pretty rustic old farm no matter how you look at it but we like it that way and we are always looking for ways to reuse or recycle something into another life form.

    Camping on the property would be possible if desired. We run a very relaxed operation but we are always in motion. Because of the livestock we have a No Pet policy. Due to being around the livestock, and the need to keep you safe our policy is No Drugs, No Indoor Smoking...but we do drink wine/beer on occasion and we make AWESOME popcorn:-) Great outdoor recreational area, even in the winter !!!

    If it gets hot we all go swimming, if it rains or if it is cold...Netflix time! (yes, we do have a T.V!)
    We have DSL internet with remote access/WI-FI. but you need to bring your own laptop. We also have a membership at the local health club for our guests use.
    Great area for hiking, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, swimming, jogging, and biking (dedicated bike trails 8 miles away)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great outdoor recreational area !!! Perfect area for canoe, kayak, and dedicated bike trails are 8 miles from farm( bike only no cars on trails!!!) Also great hiking area. We swim in the local lakes and sometimes we hit a water park and the local movie house. Because of the livestock we have a No Pet policy.
    Due to food processing and the need to keep you safe our policy is No Recreational Drugs, and No Indoor Smoking...
    but we do drink wine/beer on occasion :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approx 5 hours a day, with a couple of days off per week, not always in a row.































Host ref number: 3331548974de