Help with social projects for people with disabilities and experience Da Nang, Vietnam with the community!

Country

Vietnam

Favourited 633 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    245

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Visited by team
    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This group was established by Tuan in early 2013. He has spinal cord injury (SCI) after a severe accident 4 years ago. After a long time of treatment and rehabilitation in the hospital and at home, He decided to move out and live independently. He was the first person in Da Nang who received support from Hanoi Independent Living Centre for peer counselling and Personal Assistant (PA). However, the PA system in Da Nang is not very effective.He rented a house in Hai Chau District, Da Nang and lived alone for the first month after moving out. After that, some students came and supported me every day. He decided to let students to live in my house for free. They supported him when He needed and He became more independent in the life.
    He started some social activities such as teaching IT for a student with disabilities, English class for people with disabilities (PWDs) and volunteers, PA training, hosting tourists in Da Nang, and peer counseling for wheelchair-users. All activities are at my rented house and paid by the savings He had accumulated prior to my accident. After some months, this life has become well-known in Da Nang, especially in some universities. More students come to my group to share experience and study English.

    Now Working as a social worker him and his friends were inspired to found a Non-profit organization with the desire of running more sustainable and effective community development projects. This Center was registered on June 1st 2017 with the local government, working on the activities as follows:
    Clinical medicine
    Preventive medicine
    Education
    Sociology
    Technology Transfer Services

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    I'm always looking for new things from you guys who come to our organization. We always have space for you guys. and Scooter and bicycle for traveling somewhere
    - You should spend about 2h/ day to help us.
    If you want to learn more about Danang city, we are always ready to help you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are not able to host pets. My house is a great place for social activities and cultural exchange. You will have fun and chance to make friends with many interesting people here. We are always ready for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From our point of view, the Danang's traffic system is one of the best systems in Vietnam. There are many tourist attractions around the city. Now I am living in a simple place which is near 2 big local supermarkets (Han and Con) and some famous universities. It's also convenient for travelers staying in my house because they can take the local bus to Hoi AN and My Son easily from here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours per day (max 25/week)

  • ...

    This host has been visited by a member of the Workaway team

    Visited by Workaway Team in July 2017
























Host ref number: 328574817215