Ecological Guest House in Paraty and Permaculture Workshops in Paraty, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Country

Brazil

updated  

Favourited 407 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm from Oregon, USA. I've been living in Brazil for over 15 years. I am vegetarian and love Brazilian culture and music. I play in a maracatu group and love to study popular music culture. I work in organic agriculture and with Education. I have a start-up project on my property, including courses, environmental education and online rental.

    There are two houses so far on the property. I live in one house in the back with Ivan who helps me manage the accomodation. I rent the other house to people visiting Paraty on vacation, however I am not a hostel or hotel and therefore do not usually need help with reception for tourists, although occasionally I'll need help cleaning and preparing the rental house.

    I have a large yard with fruit trees and an organic garden on site. My houses were built with some ecological principals (solar power, recycled wood), but I would like to implement more permaculture into the houses and land. I can provide a very nice place to stay, close to local attractions, in exchange for help with yard work, as well as general maintenance, house chores, sewing and simple home repair activities.

    IF YOU ARE SKILLED IN BUILDING, WORKING WITH WOOD, OR PERMACULTURE PRACTICES PLEASE CONTACT ME. I ALSO COULD USE SOMEONE WITH KNOWLEDGE IN ELECTRIC, ROOFING, WATER CAPTURE SYSTEMS, AND SOLAR. I can often use the creative type to paint a wall, invent a lamp shade or things of that type. If you don't have any of these skills , that is ok, but you should come ready to work and be independent, ask a lot of questions, and generally manage your own time with responsibility. I ask for 6 hours a day, 5 days a week. Time schedules are adjustable but in general if you are here more for a free place to stay while you tour the city, this is not the place for you..If you are interested in helping out, working hard, and getting involved, you will be more than welcome and will get a lot out of your time with us.

    Sometimes I have other volunteers and sometimes not. You will work mostly with my volunteer coordinator (Ivan). I am often busy managing the various projects I have going on, as well as studying so I don't have a lot of time to spend working side by side. But I encourage interruptions for questions, so that the work is done right the first time and resources are not wasted.

    I try to provide a private room, but this is not always possible since all rooms are first and foremost for paying guests. I expect you to be flexible about the room available. In the worst case you will get a nice bed in the living room nook, separated by a black out curtain or a tent for a few days.

    If you have questions, please ask. Please tell me not only about yourself, but about what skills you have to offer and what you like to do. I am not a teaching center. This is a place for someone who wants a nice relaxing space, is independent and works hard.

    In addition to short stays (maximum 2 weeks).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested in permaculture, gardening and home repair, you will learn about that as you work. If you would like to get involved in other projects, just let me know what you are looking for.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a garden on site at my home which needs much help as well as a large yard that grows like crazy (mowing, green fence trimming, fruit and other tree trimming), a compost pile and worm bin and many plans for improving the garden and yard and bringing more permaculture to my home. I also rent out a house, which often requires preparing rooms, cleaning , general maintenance. Often I'll ask for help with my daily life (sewing ripped clothes or curtain, shopping etc). I plan to build soon and am looking for specific building skills.

    These are some of the tasks I need
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Yard and garden maintenance - mowing, pruning, weeding, planting, building plant structures, raking
    *️️️️️️️️️️Sanding and staining.The houses are wood, there is a lot of this to be done.
    *️️️️️️️️️️Construct a covered area for wood working and storage
    *️️️️️️️️️️Grey Water run-off system
    *️️️️️️️️️️Water capture system
    *️️️️️️️️️️Irrigation improvements
    *️️️️️️️️️️Bike maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️For Native English or Portuguese speakers - site upgrade improvements (review of text)
    *️️️️️️️️️️Advertising tips and photography for communication specialists (website management) for Temp rental project and school garden project (video production, marketing materials, and marketing via internet)
    *️️️️️️️️️️People with attention to detail for thorough cleaning of dust and painting, cleaning out car and general house cleaning.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Electricians for putting more lights in the yard
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Wood workers for building things (side tables, trash bin)
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Fundraisers and coordinators/organizers (especially with experience in school garden projects and Crowdfunding campaigns)
    *️️️️️️️️️️ General maintenance - hang things, drill, sand etc.

    I ask for volunteers to come prepared to work up to 6 hours a day for 5 days, before having two days off. But most importantly is communication. I need to know your plans for days and hours off so I can plan to be around to supervise when you work and to have the materials on hand that you need.. I expect volunteers to be self-directed and resourceful. I am not always able to work side by side, but can orient activities and then leave it to you. I am especially looking for volunteers with building skills, sewing skills, painting skills, electrical skills, good at pruning trees, bike repair, and knowledge of permaculture. I have a PDC, but not a whole lot of experience in Permaculture. I'd like to put in a water catchment system, expand the garden, put in natural swimming pool, build a cob oven among other things. I also have lots of maintenance work (sanding, staining, painting) as well as opportunities for artists who like to work with wood or bamboo. I have lot of recycled wood stored that I'd like to do something with. A creative woodworker would be great for turning the wood into a useful product!

    If you are interested in helping out, please be specific about your experience and what kind of skills you can offer and what you expect from the experience. Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, and some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I provide a private room with double bed, mosquito net and fan, whenever possible. Otherwise a living room area separated by curtains, that is not as private, but also nice, with double bed, fan and shared bathroom. The rooms are in my home behind the guest house. At times you may be required to camp for a couple days. We can provide a tent if you do not have one.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is much to do around Paraty. It is a region full of beautiful waterfalls and beaches. There are wonderful restaurants and shops, and a quaint historic city. My house is 25 min by foot from the historic center and I also provide a bike for your use when guests are not renting them. There are buses to many beaches and boats to others. The city offers many festivals throughout the year (music, film, cultural, dance). For those interested in Brazilian music there is also a maracatu group and tambor de crioulo.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day: 5 days on, two days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 327729629824