updated  

Help out with the house and kids and experience the Gold Coast, Australia

  • Favourited 478 times
  • Last activity: 30 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Current availability:
    May - WorkAway (Letti & Benedetta)
    June - WorkAway (Sharon)
    July - Available
    August - WorkAway (Helene)
    September - WorkAway (Helene)
    October - Available
    November - Available

    Hi, we are a busy family of 6 (hubby & I are both 35). We live in a suburb called Helensvale on the Gold Coast. Approx 20m drive to Surfers Paradise & 5m drive to a Gold Coast major shopping centres. We live next to a nature reserve & our view is full of greenery, looking towards the ocean. We live in very close proximity to public transport, shopping centres and medical services. We’re a short walk to the Gold Coast theme parks for hours of fun! We live in a 3-story, 6-bedroom home with a large swimming pool and lush yard. We have 4 vibrant children (17, 14, 13, and 10). 3 are biologically ours & we have adopted our niece, 14. The 3 younger children attend school full time and have extracurricular activities. 14-year-old girl, 13-year-old boy & 10-year-old girl. Our eldest 17-year-old-girl studies her final year of school online & runs her own business as a lash tech, our youngest daughter has just started a full time dance academy program 30+hours a week, and our boy plays soccer, basketball and futsal plus loves cooking. Our niece doesn't play many sports but enjoys crafts and e-games. My husband travels for work & I work in a hybrid office/home role (approx 35 hrs p/w). We are a very open & honest family with a very hectic schedule.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A home away from home :-)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    THE HELP:
    It will be approx 20-25 hours per week. There may be an odd night that we would ask you to cover. Any extra hours would be compensated by reduced home duties or pocket money.

    GENERAL DUTIES:

    Will include but are not limited to..helping with kids (homework, assisting kids with their chores & room tidies, dinner prep), help with household jobs during day: bathrooms, spot cleaning, dusting, cleaning glass/mirrors, vacuum & mopping, general housekeeping, folding, taking out rubbish, changing sheets, keeping kids toys tidy (inside & outside), cleaning out car, etc. Pretty much helping me keep the house running.

    Approx Mon-Fri (8am-12pm) so plenty of time to explore the Gold Coast, etc. Both sides require flexibility as schedules and kids extracurricular activities vary daily. We are happy to be flexible with the schedule for each workaway. We've had some work aways who study English during the weekdays & we adapt to make this work :-)

    THE RIGHT PERSON
    We require a very independent person who can complete tasks with minimal guidance. Must have a great eye for detail & be super time efficient. Due to the busyness of our schedules, we need someone who can comfortably speak English and who, if required in urgent situations, can drive a large vehicle well. Due to foster care regulations, we can only take female assistance. Sorry.

    The right person for this role must genuinely want a family experience in Australia. It might include kicking a soccer ball around the front yard, watching a movie or sharing a lovely meal together :-)

    Please email me with any questions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    WHAT WE ARE OFFERING:
    In return we are offering full board (own private room), lockable bathroom (shared with family), unlimited internet access, public transport card & 3 meals per day. You will have full access to the pool & can accompany us on family activities if wanted. Full laundry access & we also supply all linen, etc. **room is a converted office so not a massive room but is clean, tidy, comfortable; with a ceiling fan and plenty of storage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Gold Coast is a one of a kind location with so many sights to enjoy. Set on over 75km of the QLD coast, it boast amazing beaches & a sunny lifestyle.

    Australia’s Gold Coast is an endless playground of entertainment and adventure. It is a promise of big smiles and warm memories in a spectacle of golden beaches, legendary theme parks, iconic rainforests, and lively entertainment.

    Feel the excitement of life in the fun lane, where the sun shines on an unlimited variety of things to see and do all year round. Cuddle a koala, learn to surf, and walk a World Heritage listed rainforest trail in a day full of natural adventure. Scream with excitement on the biggest and best theme park rides, browsing the boutiques, or putting your way to a win on a championship golf course. And as the sun sets over this city by the sea, treat yourself to an international stage show, dine on the freshest local produce and take your cocktail beachside as the Gold Coast glimmers through the night.

    The Gold Coast is a celebrated holiday experience set on one of Australia’s most spectacular natural stages.

    Come & enjoy!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Stable, fast, unlimited wifi available. Own room for privacy.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours per week

Host ref number: 325852543971

Feedback (11)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)






















Volunteering at a small holding near Perth, Western Australia.
Help out at our organic garden in the Adelaide Hills, SA, Australia