Join me in cultivating a healthy and sustainable country home in Utopia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I’m Jeff and I live in Utopia Ontario.
    I am looking for helpful individuals interested in a break from the hustle of city life. I keep a few chickens and grow a vegetable garden. I usually keep some beehives for honey. I bake my own sourdough bread and try to cook healthy food. I am also a musician.
    I live in a older country home and so I often have repair projects around the house. In spring and summer there are building projects such as construction of a greenhouse or garden shed.

    I am living a healthy, outdoor type lifestyle and the goal is to slowly move towards a self-sustaining, self-sufficient life with an emphasis on locally grown food. If you are a helpful, easy-going person you are welcome to come and assist me with some of the tasks, while enjoying the peace of the countryside.
    I live in Utopia, a small hamlet of about 100 people just west of the city of Barrie. It is country living. The house is walking distance to the Utopia Conservation Area, a 50 acre nature space with walking trails. The Utopia Hall hosts monthly events and concerts (and I hope these return soon.)
    There are two bicycles here that can be used. There is Internet. I do not have a TV. I generally live without the distractions of mainstream media.
    Meditation and yoga are important to me and I live 5 minutes drive from the Ontario Vipassana meditation centre. I have taken courses there and I can provide more information if interested.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience the village of Utopia and small town Ontario life. Utopia is 15 minutes from the city of Barrie, which a nice little city with a waterfront, boardwalk and shops.
    I am originally from the east coast of Canada, Nova Scotia. I play guitar and write many of my own songs. I have travelled extensively. (I am usually the one who is travelling and staying at other people’s place. Now it’s me hosting!)
    I lived and worked in Australia for two years. In 2019 I took a year off my job and travelled to 20 countries. And I can’t wait for the opportunity for more globe travel.
    I speak some Spanish and interested in other languages.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for helpful individuals interested in a break from the hustle of city life. Tasks here would consist of general help around the house, around 3 hours each day. I attempt to have a nourishing healthy meal for dinner most days, so help with that would be great. Interest/skill in creating meals would be an asset.
    I have a few chickens and I am planning for baby chicks in spring.
    In spring, summer and fall there would be tasks in the garden and landscaping.
    Please mention if you have any special skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am also learning some Russian. More practice needed there.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a two story country home and there are two guest rooms in the house. I will include a photo below.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Utopia is 15 minutes from the city of Barrie, 5 minutes from the town of Angus, and 1 hour drive to the city of Toronto. Hopefully soon Toronto will return to normal, in which case you can visit the CN tower, Toronto Islands, Niagara Falls, museums, parks, Chinatown, and more.
    Here, I live beside the Utopia Conservation Area, a 50 acre nature park with walking trails and a heritage grist mill building.
    I’d like to learn about your country and culture and I hope to share with you some of mine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 to 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 324768653684