Living together on our countryside project in Tengen, close to the Swiss border, Germany

  • Favourited 888 times
  • Last activity: 10 Aug 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a group of people living in a self-organized project. We are on our way to becoming a community. Our place is on the countryside in Southern Germany, close to the Swiss border.

    We are 10 adults of different age and 3 Children( 5,6,16) (we also have 7 tiny sheeps, 3 cats and one dog).
    The project owns 9,5 hectare of land. Parts of our land are natural habitats; forests, meadows and fields.

    We cook vegan/vegetarian. All decisions belonging to the project are made with consent, therefore we meet once a week for sharing information, and once a month for plenum to increase our cooperative feeling. We meet on Friday to do different enjoyable activities together.

    Our guests shall always be a part of us and our project. We want our guest to live and work together with us for as long as they stay here. We want them to feel at home. We want to learn from our guests and they from us.

    WE host people for at least 2 weeks on, not less. Sorry.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Each of us is at least able to teach one skill... ;)
    English, (other languages)
    Cooking
    Carpentry
    Gardening
    Tool-knowledge
    Permaculture-Design
    Sports
    Table-Top-Games/ D'n'D- Pen and Paper

    It is always a learning experience to be with a group in this context. We have good times and bad times.
    But it is always in motion.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on our needs and your interest, we will have different kinds of jobs for you. If you have any visions or ideas for projects, we might find a way to make it work.

    - Our constant tasks
    Help with building sheep fences (dead hedges/Benjeshecken)clean sheep-stable.
    We have some work in our garden.
    Construction / Renovation
    The meadows are scythed and mown.
    Active nature-protection.
    Participating in the household.

    - Spring/Summer
    (from march on) we need a lot of help in the garden.
    - August and September we need people to help us harvest all the fruit and vegetables around, preserve and store them. (make jam, chutneys, pickles)
    taking care of FFH-Meadows (we will explain to you).

    There's always some carpentry stuff to do.

    Fall/Winter:
    When it gets colder, we are going to make some wood for heating the house as well.
    Thinning the trees on the slopes.
    building stuff outside (like fences)

    Ongoing we are happy about helpers in cooking, different household and yard chores.

    To coordinate the work you can and want to do, someone will be there to give you advice or assistance.
    We prefer to have helpers who are able to work independently.
    You may be asked to work alone. You may have a day off when nobody in the house is available.
    On weekends most of the inhabitants are there and can give assistance.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Polish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on how many people are at the Mühle when you are staying here, you either sleep in a simply furnished guest room (with mattress), a small site caravan or in one of the “free” rooms (normally for rent).
    For sure you will have a place where you can close the door and be on your own. We will find the best option for you to stay, depending on your needs.

    In the house we have a common kitchen and common living / eating room. Here you are welcome to be together with others and make yourself comfortable. The terrace has a rustic and pleasant view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated 1,5 km south of a small town called Tengen, in a beautiful valley with a small stream called Körbelbach. It is possible to arrive to Tengen by public transport from either Engen or Singen (Hohentwiel), but the connection is not great. We can usually pick you from the trainstation in Engen or Singen.
    The samegoes forthe nearest swiss village of Hofen (SH, 2.5km) and train station in Thayngen.

    Tengen is a small quiet town in the Hegau mountains. There you can find a bank, a pharmacy, some restaurants, and a supermarket.

    In the Mühle we have internet connection and fixed line, but no mobile phone connection. Therefore you have to walk 3 Minutes up the hill to use your data / handy (German or Swiss mobile network)

    Our food is delivered by a local biological farm. We are using more local and ecological products, common food is vegan, at least vegetarian and we reducing our use of chemical products. Meat is not cooked in common kitchens.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    no, sorry.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 321878557758

Feedback (31)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









































Help around the house and garden and learn some Bavarian from my children. Germany
Looking for help on our little farm near Berlin, Germany