Experience an organic farm in a remote Nepalese village and enjoy our quite and green environment in Ilam, Nepal



updated   Last minute

Favourited 184 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi, I am Tika. I am a teacher at secondary school in Maipokhari village. I am living with my family in Maipatal village, Ilam district. The village is located in around 600 km far from Kathmandu and altitude is 2225 mt. high. Ilam district is famous with its tea farms. We have organic farm, herbal plants and nursery. We have also two cows. We are growing kiwi, black tea, ground apple, chickpeas and beans. The volunteers are warmly welcomed to my farm and my family. You can experience rural life in the east of Nepal and you can see local life, in person.

    Our village and its surrounding is quite green and it's as known the greenest district of Nepal and tea paradise. If you like, you can do many activities in here. There are some trekking sites such as Chintapu,Sandakpur and Tappu, Todke waterfall, Maipokhari Lake and Red Panda Sightseeing area.

    The environment is cold in here due to altitude, thus best to bring some warm clothes.

    How To Reach To The Farm ::
    From kathmandu, the capital of Nepal you can find either day or night bus to the city named Ilam. It is about 16 hours trip to Ilam from kathmandu.
    You also can find planes to Chandragadi (the city) from Kathmandu. You can use either of both. And in Ilam bazar we, anyone from the farm will be there to take you. The farm is about 16 km north from Ilam bazar. You can also come by walking from Ilam bazar if you wanna hike.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will be able to learn Nepalese culture, language and experience local life. Volunteers also will have a chance to enhance their agricultural knowledge and they can see beauty of the district, discover the surrounding.

  • Help


    Volunteers can help for our daily routines. Besides, we are planning to build a bamboo cottage and a greenhouse. We also want to improve our kiwi farm, nursery of herbal plants ,vermiculture and horticulture.
    We always open for creative ideas and to make them realize.
    We are asking 5 hours per day from volunteers and they will have 2 day off per week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Nepali, English, Hindi

  • Accommodation


    We have shared room for 2 persons and common bathroom with hot water and Nepalese style toilet. We have electricity in rooms. Because of less facility in our terrritory, we don't have internet, we are looking forward to provide it. But you can use data for internet.
    Because of I am working at School, I won't be always in farm but there will be someone who is going to help you.
    We can proivde 3 meals per day. We are cooking traditional Nepalese food, mainly vegetarian. The food is healty and fresh. As a family, we like drinking tea so you will also get tea a couple times in a day.
    We are always happy to welcome new guests (volunteers).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can guide you to Todke waterfall which is the second tallest waterfall of Nepal, Maipohari Lake and local areas and celebrations. This place is good for trekking. There are some trails where taking you to beautiful view of Himalayas. Altitude of mountains are quite high like from 2600 to 3600 meters. During your free time you can visit neighbour villages and interact with warm-blooded locals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (3.5)

Host ref number: 321871811795