Help our family outdoor projects and enjoy Kauai life in Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About us: We are lucky to call the beautiful island of Kauai home! We recently purchased a 3.5 acre parcel of land, upon which we have our home and a guest house/detached garage. We are now in the throes of preparing the land for crops as well as farm animals. We are a family of 4 - Josh, Crystal and two elementary age children. We have two friendly dogs and an outside cat.
    About Kauai: referred to as the Garden Isle, Kauai is the oldest and most lush of all the Hawaiian islands. From adventuresome waterfall hikes to leisurely days at the beach, you're sure to find plenty to do in your spare time!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While we do not enjoy the benefits of Hawaiian heritage, we are quickly becoming immersed in the culture here. We have friends from all walks of life, and would be delighted to introduce you to as many of them as you like! From authors to yoga instructors, to general contractors and realtors, we are getting to know all types of people! Common among mostly everyone is a love for the aina (land). Aloha is an action, not just a touristy word. We see it used daily, and do our best to spread aloha to others.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple who is good with their hands and various tools. We need to repair and install fences, build a barn, plant a garden. Occasional help with pets.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our goal is to have two helpers share the entire detached guest house ("Ohana"), which is furnished as two bedrooms and one bathroom. Plenty of storage, closets, etc., as well as a beautiful wrap around porch and screened lana'i. All cookware and dishware are provided, as well as linens and towels. No range, but you will have a gas grill. Assorted food staples will always be provided including olive oil, sugar, a few spices, etc. We share the fruit grown on our property when ripe, including 4 types of avocados, lychee, longon, pineapple, lemons, limes, oranges, tangerines, bananas and coconuts.

    A washer and dryer are available for your use, separate from ours in the main house. The Ohana is all electric, and electric costs 6 times what it does on the mainland USA, so we ask that you be mindful of the electric use. The Ohana enjoys excellent placement and takes full advantage of the trade winds here. Neither the main house nor the Ohana has air conditioning, which is typical here, when staying anywhere but a resort. Floor fans are provided in each bedroom.
    We have a beautiful pool which you are welcome to use as much as you like.
    A car during your stay is absolutely essential, as we live in the countryside, far from public transit. Please ensure your plans and budget allow for a car rental. Sites such as Turo.com, rentawreck.com and Costco.com are good alternatives to the regular commercial car rental websites.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation can be unreliable and slow. That said, many people hitchhike (illegal but seems pretty safe), use the bus and the occasional Uber or taxi. A rental car is ideal.
    There is much to do on the island completely for free, as well as those activities that cost money, but are often worth every penny (think Napali coast snorkel trip, ziplining, charter fishing.) Kauai is a very quiet place. Many restaurants close at 8 or 9 pm and only a tiny handful of places stay open late as bona fide "bars." There are no nightclubs here that I've ever heard of. Bonfires on the beach as well as camping on or near the beach are some favorite things to do that you can't do very many places in the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours per week


Host ref number: 321665658733