Homestay with big garden and close to nature in the Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am living on a big property with a large garden where there is always something to do. I have got a dog and two cats; there is a swimming pool, a pond with lots of frogs, ... Since I am usually living on my own, the necessary help around the garden and house are easily getting too much and therefore I am very grateful for the occasional support by volunteers. It is mainly gardening I am needing, but can also be other tasks, such as painting, repairs, cleaning.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I myself like traveling and have seen quite a bit of the world. I was born in Namibia, lived in Germany for many years and now I am living in the Algarve for more than 20 years. I speak Portuguese reasonably well and am well integrated into the neighbourhood. I love the exchange with open minded volunteers coming from all over the world, introducing them into the Portuguese culture and showing them the beautiful surrounding I am living in.
    I am also a Shiatsu practitioner and love exchanging the one or other body treatment.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello travelers in the Algarve

    It is useful when volunteers bring along some interest and experience with gardening
    Depending on the season the gardening usually means weeding, pruning, etc.; working the compost; in automn some help with the olive harvest might be needed.
    I might also ask volunteers to help painting or restoring garden furniture, gates, walls or alike; clearing and tidying might be another task...
    On a big property like mine there is always things to do and it also depends on the interest and experience of volunteers.

    .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Afrikaans: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers usually stay in the smaller part of the holiday house, the studio, which has a kitchenette and bathroom and volunteers can easily cater for themselves and enjoy some privacy.
    I usually cook a warm meal in the evening which we share. Of course I am also happy if volunteers like to cook some of their favorite meals...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is about 4km from the next town and very close to pure nature with lots of possibilities to walk and discover without the need of any transport. Cork trees are very typical in this region and there is a lovely river walk. Sao Bras de Alportel, the closest town is calm and pleasant, with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. There is a bus going from Faro to Sao Bras and from there I usually pick up the volunteers. One can fly to Faro or to Lisbon and take a coach or train from there. I also have space to park your own van / caravan.
    Depending on the interest of the volunteers I like to take them to some beaches, the rocky coast or other interesting places in the Algarve.
    I have hosted many volunteers during the last ten years and it has usually been a great pleasure. I prefer taking on couples and / or volunteers who re happy to work independently, because I am not always able to work along. I need a certain amount of privacy and offer my guests the same - by supplying them with a comfortable self catering accomodation. But I am also enjoying the shared evening meals and talks, exchanging life experiences, ideas and philosophies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Accomodation is in the studio (part of the holiday house)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Direkt vorm Studio (Unterkunft für Volunteers) gibt es einen Stellplatz. Yes, there is a parking place right in front of the studio.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche


Host ref number: 319979885465