Help on an interesting renovation project on the Hood Canal, WA, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 176 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My family just invested in a really interesting property on the Hood Canal in Washington State. The property and house are full of charm and history - built in the early 1900s by a well-off family and basically unchanged - but it has lost its luster over the years. Our idea is to bring the life back and connect it with the community by offering a unique place for betterment retreats - think painting weekend, meditation workshops, culinary immersion, etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer the opportunity to be part of a unique project with lots of history - be part of the story!
    In addition, the location is just spectacular. If you like seclusion, peace, quiet, wildlife; if you like not having cell signal, this place is for you. If you love being surrounded by nature- seeing bald eagles, sea lions, eating fresh oysters - well, we have that and more!

    There are a couple of small "towns" about 15m drive both with a pub, gas station, and general stores. Silverdale, Washington is about 1 hour drive and offers just about everything. Seattle is around 2.5 hours

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    In terms of the work needed, there are two buildings on the property - one needs a total renovation and the other needs some modernizing and refreshing. Some of the projects will be: sanding and refinishing original woodwork, light demolition, removing wallpaper, painting, tiling, electrical, deep cleaning, moving furniture, decoration projects both with hard and soft materials, and picking up supplies (we hope to use as much salvaged and used material as possible).

    In addition to the houses, the lush 10 acres is waiting for green thumbs to bring it back to life. It's covered in old growth on the back 6 acres, has about 2 acres of garden, a small green house that needs to be rejuvenated, and a nice shoreline. Anyone like fresh oysters and crabs? Some of the projects here will be: light and heavy regrading, building small retaining walls, setting stone steps, lots(!!!) of pruning, blackberry removal, bamboo removal, replanting local species under the guidance of local environmental organizations, and build a beach hut with salvaged materials.

    We're looking specifically for self-sufficient couples with experience in construction, remodels, or landscaping. It's important to be self-starters and self-learner because our knowledge is limited!

    I'll also note that we'll be working with contractors as well, so our hope is to get a solid handy-person out here and fill in the gaps.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation will be your own small private suite with a bedroom, bathroom and small sitting area. The room has a nice view and will be set up nicely - quiet and comfortable. The large kitchen will be shared with at least one of our family members who will be staying in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ahh, the good part: we are surrounded by nature. Close to the Olympic National Forest - one of America's greatest and well-preserved parks. In addition to this, there are many great hikes and campsites even closer. Ideally we'd like 4 days on/3 days off, but we're open to longer spans if you really want to get deep into the forest.

    We will have a car available to use day-to-day and could be used from time to time over the weekend.

    And finally, this is a pretty autonomous role. Although we'll be there to guide the projects and occasionally work alongside, we really need someone who is a self-starter and can manage/troubleshoot things on their own. We all have jobs or families or dogs - or all three, so there won't be a great deal of overseeing, which the right person will be happy to hear!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Basically any size! Could supply electric but not sure how I would hook up water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Anything rough enough for the wild but nice enough to see other dogs and people - there are bobcats roaming and bald eagles who can swoop up a small animal.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible days, between 30-40 hours a week


Host ref number: 319615253949