Family business on a large quinta on ecological land in central Portugal looking for some helpers.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Lesley and Dave, we have four boys. Two sons have left home and live in the UK and two boys age 15 and 21. We have a four hectare farm with tourist accommodation and camping facilities. We have a pollytunnel and vegetable garden. We keep 5 dogs that sleep in the house. We have goats, pigs, sheep, chickens and ducks. We have an outdoor unheated swimming pool.

    We cook various cuisines for local music events.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn about the Portuguese culture, food and language. The travellers can learn about ecological farming, running a tourism business. There are amazing places to see that are hidden gems, such as river beaches, the mountains and historical cities with wonderful architecture. There are a variety of things going on in the community such as arts, music, singing, dancing and martial arts to become involved with.

    We are happy to involve any travellers in our everyday life and learn skills such as building, looking after the land, cooking etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a farm and tourism business, we need help with cleaning, working on the land, gardening, collecting wood, chopping wood, animals and aspects of building. We enjoy making things and would like somebody who can work a sewing machine.

    We would like people that are computer literate, maybe know about website design, like taking photographs and making video.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room single or shared in heated house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many walks, river beaches and places of interest to visit here. Throughout the summer months there are many festivals and festas every week. There is a bus stop a short walk from the Quinta and a little further away a coach service that takes you to the cities of Coimbra, Porto and Lisbon. There are many activities and clubs in the local area to become involved in and an opportunity to get to know people here. The Portuguese people are very friendly and accepting of people, there is also a large community of English and Dutch amongst other nationalities here and is easy to fit in to the community.
    We employ people within our business and like to have fun, are sociable and will include any volunteers as part of the family. We are happy to include them on days out and when possibly drive them places and introduce them to friends that will also include them in activities and social events. We work hard and play hard and would like volunteers to be committed and flexible as working hours may change due to weather and where we need the help most but also want you to enjoy your time in Portugal.

    We have travelled when younger and worked away ourselves and had wonderful experiences and would like to offer that opportunity to others. We also have a yurt here, where we practice yoga and meditation that is available to volunteers too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 319478516678