Help small family on homestead close to Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 457 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please read the whole profile and check our calendar to see availability before contacting us!

    DUE TO RESTRICTIONS CAUSED BY COVID19 - we can only accept workawayers who are fully vaccinated and can enter Norway with a EU approved vaccinationcard, or travels from a country marked as "green" by Norwegian Health Information.

    - - - - - - -

    We are a family of three (38-30- 3). Julie is working in a pre-school, while Jens is working on call, helping other farmers. With both of us working, and with a child in the house, we are in need of help with day to day tasks taking care of our animals, housework and gardening, as well as to renovate our house and the yard.

    We live on an old family farm of 600 acres, mostly woods and some fields which are rented out to grain and grass production. The farm consists of a big barn, granery, a main house - and our (very) small house, which once was set up for the retired farmer and his wife (before that it was a tramps cottage). The property you will focus on is the house we are living in and the area around it.

    We have a few goats, pigs, rabbits (only one at the moment) and cats, (and chickens whenever a new coop is ready).

    We are based in the beautiful countryside of Østfold/Viken County (center of central Norway),

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We provide an experience with Norwegian day to day family and farmlife. You'll be a part of our family during your stay, come with us to family occasions etc if you want, and come close to the Norwegian culture and life.

    If you want to experience "slow living", you are welcome to send us a message.

    A great opportunity to learn how to renovate a yard and a house, and how to build up a homestead step by step. The way we keep our animals is sort of vintage, and a lot of the techniques we use are old. You will learn A LOT about the animals we keep (pigs in particular). A lot of this is mentioned in the help description.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to welcome ONE volunteer, who will stay for at least two weeks.

    We're looking for an open minded, self going, positive and handy person, wich has no trouble getting their hands dirty. Most tasks is manual labour!

    It is a plus for you (and us), if you want to experience a different, rustic and simple life in the country.

    You need to be good with animals and friendly with children (and tolerate toddler tantrums, although no babysitting, but she would love to play when she gets to know you). We hunt and keep animals for food, with keeping focus on animal welfare. Our animals live out the whole year, and are antibiotic free. We are growing some organic vegetables (for fun).

    You will be a part of our household - you are living here too - wich means that sweaping and empty the dishwasher isn't work. You need to clean up after yourself, dishes, bathroom etc.

    We have boots and a small selection of workwear available for loan. You need to bring with you clothes for all weather (and temperatures considering the season).

    There might be some heavy lifting (no need to go to the gym). You will work on some tasks alone (which mean you should show initiative, be responsible and hands on) and some tasks together with us. You need to be prepared to work outside in ALL kinds of weather and temperatures, as most of the tasks is outside work. Work is ANY suitable task that needs to be done.

    ANIMAL EXPERIENCE
    Daily tasks all year around includes feeding and watering the animals, collect grass and branches for rabbits and goats. Mucking out when necessary (daily care of the animals take aprx 1. hr), other than that, assist with all care of the animals (setting up and fix fences, build new huts, assist with care of the aprx 20. pigs)

    We have started on a new chicken coop - this needs to be finished. Unfortunatley we don't have any chickens at the moment (the fox took them all), but we are getting new chickens whenever this the coop is done .

    During slaughter and hunting season, we also need help to divide and pack meat.

    HOUSE AND YARD RENOVATION
    We started to renovate in 2017, as the house was condamned. After our daughter was born, it has slowed down. We need help to finish the in and outside of the house, and the garden space. Gardening and tidying up outside (a lot of tidying up that needs to be done as it's very messy for the time being).

    Tasks is varied, and includes painting/carpentry and some building, as well as upkeep of the garden by gardening (mow lawn, weeding, planting, cut down trees, chop and chip wood, tidy up etc.) If you don't know how to do stuff, we will teach you.

    OTHER TASKS
    Is ANY suitable task that needs to be done.

    During the winter months, tasks include a maximum if 1 hour housework (a list is already made for this and the housework is spread out through the week to lighten the burden) - you may be asked to help with some housework during the summertime too.

    Jens is a collector of anything that can be reused - our barn needs to be sorted out, and Jens might need some help with this. (You can pretend you are an American Picker in Norway)

    We try to embrace your skills and interests in the tasks, so if you have any particular skills that is useful to complete projects, we usually set up some tasks to compliment this.


    Contact us to get a link to a video of Jason's work routine wich is on YouTube. (He did workaway with us in winter 2020)

    HELPER HOURS
    25 hours pr week, mon-fri 0900-1430 (this includes 30min lunchbreak) leaving the weekend off, - we are flexible on the daily hours and days - if you want more days off, you can make up for the hours missed - It all depends on your plans while staying here, and what we need to have done at the moment. We can plan a little ahead together when you arrive, if you wish.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Julie is a c1 level English after working and living in Ireland, and can help with English. We can both teach Norwegian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Simple sleeping arrangement inside the house - in a SMALL alcove in the upstairs hallway - close to the staircase - mattres on the floor with curtains for privacy.
    SEE PHOTO!

    We usually have a caravan for workawayers (summer only) - this needs some fixing before anyone can stay in it again. Although - we do have a tent and a combi camp trailor if you wish to sleep out of the house during the summer.


    Bathroom and showers in the house, as well as you can join us in the evening or at your spare time - in our messy - obviously toddler occupied livingroom. Our home is your home for your time being here. We provide the food (at least dinner is a shared meal pr day, depends on our work schedule)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is remote, and it is 10-15 min drive away from ANY small village/town.

    The forest is just outside our door. If you love to spend time in nature, this is your place to be. We have bike(s) available for loan. There is a lake not far with the bike, where it's possible to swim.

    A small town nearby has everything you need by stores, and in our nearby area you will find museums, music hall, cinema, restaurants, pool, gyms, cafes, bar/pubs, horse riding, golf, fishing, library, gocart, etc.

    Public transport to Oslo (1hr trainride from Askim st.), one hour by bus from Halden, Sarpsborg, Fredrikstad and Moss, and 30-40min drive from Sweden border. Car rental 15 min drive away.

    There is some old viking graves and a lot of local viking history around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Summer only.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours pr week (SEE DESCRIPTION)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 316478295816