Come help and stay in own home on a river in Connecticut, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    785

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  • Description

    Description

    Come live in your own house on a beautiful river in rural Connecticut (a state in the US that borders NY and Massachusetts)

    It is a beautiful place-- quiet and surrounded by nature. We have already done a lot of work on the property but there is more to do and could use some help in exchange for large and comfortable accommodation. We live in another house on the property so this is not a communal experience - it is a chance to have your own place for a while.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers benefit from developing an understanding of the native woodland. Why native plants are important to sustain native wildlife and how invasive plants and animals are undermining the woodland. We have created an environment for multitudes of birds, mammals, insects that, while not perfect, is vastly improved from most of its surroundings. How does one discern natives? Invasives? How does one cultivate them? Irradicate what does harm to them?

  • Help

    Help

    Tree saving: invasive vines have been choking the trees. We have been removing the vines to save the trees.

    plant care: watering, weeding. We have a vegetable garden

    planting: from time to time.

    Important that you have a car as we are not in walking distance of any commerce.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    an entire house just for you. Full kitchen, 1 bathroom, 1 bedroom.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours a week






Host ref number: 313626662348