Arts Studio, cottage, garden, animals in quiet mountain location in Co. Tipperary, Ireland



Favourited 860 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    SUMMER HELP NEEDED 2019. Someone with skills and interest in photography, video and Internet marketing. Also cleaning, decorating, gardening and other things listed below. Could suit a couple, someone with their own car or someone coming longer term to Ireland. Please read on.
    I am a well known artist and basketmaker, making a range of arts and crafts, using natural materials and metal. I also teach and run community arts projects. My home and studio are in a quiet location in the hills of Tipperary in the Heart of Ireland.
    I practice my own form of Permaculture Gardening. The garden is wild and in a cold place but we still grow lots of food and basketry materials for our own use. Volunteers can learn about food growing through all the stages from soil creation and making shelter to seed sowing, care, harvest and storage. Always lots of outdoor work to do. My partner and I have an extensive knowledge of plants and trees and their uses that we love to share.
    I keep five beautiful horses and need help to care for them every day, mucking out, grooming, feeding. Genuine horse lovers are always welcome. The horses are bit free and barefoot and are not for pleasure riding. They lead a free life as much as possible though there are opportunities for the right people to help with their learning and go with them on trips in the countryside, ridden and on foot. I can teach you how to develop loving and respectful relationships with the herd and how to be safe and confident around all horses. Experienced horse people may learn an alternative approach and philosophy.
    I also keep five mad messy dogs and a demanding cat so animal lovers only please.
    The cottage is old and in need of constant repair/renovation and I am also finishing a shelter for the horses using mostly recycled materials so someone with woodworking, handyman or building skills would be great here too.
    When there are a few people in the house, cleaning is ongoing and everyone needs to help with that.
    Food is simple and home made and everyone shares the cooking. we cook mainly with wood on a range. The wood we try to get ourselves. I try not to buy processed food and eat quite healthily but on a tight budget. We eat meat but will accommodate vegetarians if they are willing to cook.
    Accommodation is basic, Sleeping areas in Caravan and Studio Bunk can be cold but I provide plenty of warm covers and hot water bottles.
    There is no TV and very limited internet access. The house is five miles from the nearest town but there is a local pub 1.5 miles away.
    I work hard and like to party too. I play some Irish Tin whistle and I enjoy playing with guitars and singing. If you play an instrument, be sure not to come to Ireland without it.
    I host volunteers to help out with a variety of daily tasks, animal care, gardens, arts projects, home development and maintenance and to look after things when I am not around in exchange for bed and board and the opportunity to learn a wide variety of useful skills for life.
    I basically need versatile assistants who will help me with everything as needed. This includes housework, cleaning, cooking, art projects, animal care, gardening and maintenance, building projects, fencing, making paths, processing and weaving willow and hazel, getting firewood, help with horses, field care, computer and documentation.

    Volunteers must understand English well, for safety around the animals and workshops.

    The perfect volunteer would be a really strong builder, metalworker, woodworker and landscaper who likes doing housework, plays an instrument, loves horses and growing things, doesn't mind bad weather, hard work or basic living, but is also a genius at fixing things, marketing, photography and organisation. I know you are out there!!!
    There could possibly be a long term opportunity here for the right person with flexibility.

    Minimum stay 4 weeks. Longer term volunteers welcome.
    Could suit someone with their own car.

    Musicians, singers, craftspeople, woodfolk, horse whisperers and all hardworkers especially welcome.
    TV watchers and computer or sugar addicts beware!!!

    Please contact me with possible dates if you are interested. Put the word HOPE in the subject box so I know that you have read the whole profile.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    More life skills than you will imagine! Music, Craic and hard work.

  • Help


    The help needed varies through the year and depending on the weather and season. Lots of outdoor time, Home chores are shared.
    Longer term visitors especially welcome.
    My art takes up a lot of my time so it is good if volunteers can work independently and take responsibility for the animals when necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Caravan in garden and studio bunk.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is quite isolated and there is no local transport service. It is a very quiet place and when I am working hard I don't go out much. Volunteers need to be able to amuse themselves and there is space and opportunity for anyone wishing to engage in their own creative projects particularly during a long stay. There are plenty of lovely walks in the area and when I do go out for a music night, I try to bring you with me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week - variable

Host ref number: 312549333338