Join us for home made living on beautiful coastal hilltop in south west Scotland, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 207 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Alice lives on a beautyFULL hilltop plot looking out to sea and over to the mountains of the Lake District with Dougal the cob horse and Reg the dog. Alice’s daughters and other folk sometimes live here too. The plot is part of an eight year old farm project somewhere between a new village and a community, where about thirty (including kids) people are setting up their lives. Alice is an artist, building socially or environmentally engaged projects that usually involve an adventure. Everything on the plot is home made. We make it up as we go along and welcome others input and ideas. The summer here provides for night time beach explorations, fireside cooking, horse and cart drives, sea swimming and amazing skies.

    We don’t know what we are doing very many months in advance, so last minute enquiries are good!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Making it up as you go long improvised, low tech but fun lifestyle.

    The area is amazing for coastal exploration and hillwalking, cycling, swimming and star gazing. There are 2 small towns about 10 miles away with pubs and a brewery, swimming pools museums and shops, they are accessible by bus or bicycle, hitchhiking is also a good option.

  • Help


    There is lots of woodwork to do: from “bish bash bosh” to more precise, so anyone can help with something!...finishing off a big Timberframer barn, adding balcony, verandah, doors. Building a hot tub and a sauna. Help needed on sawmill; cladding and flooring a caravan; timber extraction and building fencing from the forest; carving architectural pillars with hand tools; erecting rough hewn woodstores, raised beds, compost loo; finer carpentry for some jobs if poss. There’s also tree planting, veg growing, horsehandling, concrete mixing, firewood stacking, shell spreading on yard, seaweed shells and horsepoo collecting, dog walking etc etc etc!!
    Folk need to be positive, hardworking, a bit rough and ready and have a good sense of humour!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers could live in a number of possible places...a spare bedroom in the static caravan shared with Alice; a wooden hut built on an extended caravan (double); a converted horsebox lorry in the yard; upstairs in Timberframe loft. All are basic (we all share the compost loo in the yard and hot bucket ‘showers’ in the static), but cosy with woodburners and characterfull. They are all tucked just behind a hill of gorse with stunning views of the hills and sea all around.
    We eat simple delicious vegetarian and vegan whole food and eat together

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Loads of space to park up.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Anything (?) as long as it’s child, dog, cat and horse friendly.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 311652425375