Become a companion to my elderly mother in Biarritz, France

Country

France

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 55yr old woman who lives with her mother in the family home. I have grown up kids who don't live at home anymore. Other commitments mean, from January, I will have to be away from home for periods. I am French but speak fluent English and Spanish and I traveled widely when I was younger. The house is an Biarritz, a popular seaside resort on the SW Atlantic coast, a few kilometers from Spain. Surfing and fishing are popular and the city has a vibrant social life. The town is one of France's premier surf resorts.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will have the opportunity to visit a beautiful area of France, with opportunities for surfing and other water-sports. Spain is just down the road and the applicant will have the chance to hear the basque language too. The Pyrenees provide a beautiful backdrop. Anyone interested in improving their French and learning the culture of the basque village will surely benefit.

  • Help

    Help

    I need a companion to stay with my elderly mother while I'm away, in SW France. I am looking for someone to help her prepare light meals (Vegetarian, Organic vegetables and 50% Raw or steamed) and accompany her on short walks and fetch shopping. She is quite autonomous and has daily care from a nurse, but I would prefer someone to be around to keep her company. There will be plenty of free time. Experience isn't necessary but a good level of French is as she speaks no English. We are based in Biarritz so you will be close to the sea and beautiful beaches. I would like the post to start from January 2020 for around 4 to 6 weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A three bedroom, two storey house situated in a quiet, residential cul-de-sac, with good access to shops, beaches and public transport to the surrounding region. The successful applicant will have his/her own bedroom for the duration.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is an area where surfing is very popular so the applicant would have the opportunity to learn how to surf. Biarritz is served by it's own airport, a good train and bus service and Spain is just around the corner.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 299252738776