Looking for help with home chores and childcare in the beautiful town Akureyri, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 living very central in the beautiful town Akureyri, the capital of the north of Iceland. We are looking for a Workawayer. Our family consists of myself Mekkin (32), husband Gísli (39), daughter Þórelfa (11), daughter Unnur (9) and son Sindri (6). My husband sometimes has to work a lot . We like to have someone that speaks English. Who's used to household cleaning, do laundry, take care of children and cook sometimes. We will treat our Workawayer like one of the family. The home is not very silent, the children are socially active and often have their friends visiting.
    We are not vegan/vegetarian.

    We are nice, happy family and looking for someone who wants to be a part of our family for several weeks. We like someone who is flexible and honest and we are that as well. We are flexible and easy-going, but if you don’t handle a little action, our family will not be the right place. Our house is really central, 5 min walk to downtown, 5 min walk to school, 3 min walk to the gym and 3 min walk to then’s very nice geothermal swimming pool.


    In the town of Akureyri the puplic transport is free, the buses. But outside of Akureyri the public transport costs, see streato.is

    We prefer persons that are experienced Workawayers and are around 17-24years old and only females.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are looking for support with the household tasks and children care. Who's used to cleaning, doing laundry, taking care of children and cook. For example: hoovering, mopping, folding clothes etc. and childcare, we need someone to pickup the boy from school and take care of the children if we are working ,study or not available, then also feeding them ;) all kids understand a bit in english but they didn't talk alot but you might have to be creative to find the way to communicate or use google translate:) We don’t see this as a problem, just a fun challenge for everyone. Also good for the kids to learn more English

  • Help

    Help

    To live with a happy and open minded family. We know the area in the north of Iceland well and can help you getting around to see the beautiful north in the time of the year. We love to travel, go to swimming pool, go to ski, play card. We also enjoy being outdoors, cooking and spending time with good friends and family. We love to meet new people, that fit with our family life. Icelanders live a busy life, in work, hobbies, sports, etc. never a dull moment!

    Akureyri Geothermal Pool is in 3min walking distance, the Municipal Library and two cinemas are in 5 -10 min walking distance and there is a gym only 3 min away from our home. Akureyri also has a nice ski resort only 5 min drive from our home. You will participate with us as a family member. In the town of Akureyri the puplic transport is free, the buses. But outside of Akureyri the puplic transport costs, see streato.is

    We need someone to look after the kids when parents are working or study. When the kids finish school Monday to Friday and sometime in the weekend


    The Kids play Cello, viola and kontrabassi
    The girls go horse riding 1x in week in the horse riding club.
    The boy are in gymnastics, 1 girl in ski and 1 girl in golf.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic/ english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We life in a house with 3 floor. You will have your private room. We live near centre of the town Akureyri.


    We will provide all normal food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Akureyri is a great base for exploring the local area. We have many of Iceland’s most popular natural attractions such as, Lake Mývatn, Dettifoss, Europe’s most powerful waterfall and in Grímsey island you can cross the Arctic Circle. The area is very versatile and has been attracting visitors during summer and also in wintertime when magical northern lights dance in the sky and you can enjoy watching seals, whales, birds, ski in the nature, take on exciting jeep tours or simply enjoy the icy landscape.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 297457833687