Help us around our family home in a small village near Provadia, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have recently moved into a new family/holiday home and require help with various things.

    We have started taming an extremely overgrown backyard into what will eventually be a organic garden for veg, fruit, flowers, animals, bees and a wildlife pond as my son is obsessed with reptiles and amphibians. We currently have chickens, a rabbit and a rescued pup. more animals to follow as we build suitable housing.

    We also require less strenuous work like painting and then some harder labour work (underpinning) relaying stone paths, building a essential bbq etc but my husband is experienced in these things.

    I'd like someone relaxed, flexible and have their own initiative and who loves cakes as we bake often. I am always utilising the seasonal produce and making jams, chutneys and just cooking with lovely fresh produce.

    We have lovely neighbours who teach us lots about the Bulgarian lifestyle and food so I'd be happy to pass this knowledge on.

    We offer a double room with own toilet and use of the kitchen and house or a space for a campervan. I will cook daily and you will be welcome to join us or cook for yourself.

    The village is very small but we do go out , there's 2 village shops and there is transport to Varna etc. Can provide a bicycl if you fancy cycling anywhere.

    I do however prefer non party animals as we have two children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We learn something new everyday to be honest, but I will learn with you about organic gardening and my husband can teach you lots about building/maintenance. Above all we can show you a more organic natural way of live as we want to be as self sufficient as possible. I love immersing myself into bulgarian style of live with all their traditions.

  • Help

    Help

    . The house needs minor restoration (painting etc) but the garden has been left to grow wild for about 5 years. I will need help starting up a organic garden, a wildlife pond and areas for various animals to live.

    My husband will expect some help with light building work but it's up to you how much you can help, if not, some childminding will be awesome so we can do it.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer a double roomor a space for a camper van/tent. You will have access to the kitchen at all times so can cook when needed but food will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots to see in Bulgaria and we would be happy for you to tour around whilst being stationary at ours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a massive garden which can host a camper and van and even have a outside toilet to use.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 3/4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 297322562841