Join our small community in the South East of British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    BONUS OFFER;
    Room and board and a sliding scale cash bonus for your assistance.

    We had a couple cancel their stay with us at the last minute, therefore we are now hard pressed to get ready for winter.


    We are a small community, two households at this point, in the South East of British Columbia. Join us on 3 acres with magical roaring creek, lovely cottage, outbuildings, resident cat, 15 minutes from Nelson.

    We’ll share our home and fill your bellies with good organic vegetarian meals. We invite you to experience the gift of this land and an alternative, low stress lifestyle.

    Please note:
    although we are new to the workaway network, and as such have no reviews, we've been hosts through other hosting websites for some 12 years or so. And our home registry of hosting experiences is filled with reports from happy helpers.

    Addendum:
    Winter is already reminding us that she’s coming. So we need to kick it in to gear and get our firewood set, harvest and process food, and put the garden to bed for the winter. We’ve also got some construction/maintenance to dial in b4 the snow flies.

    We’d be delighted to have you join us if you are still in the area and needing a nest for the fall.

    In appreciation,

    Achille & Françoise

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live what might be called an alternative lifestyle. We've chosen a life of voluntary simplicity, immersed in an exquisite natural environment.

    The photo shows some of our strawbale construction. Depending on who shows up and when and their interest, we have some more strawbale work in progress. It would be great to get a strawbale wall finished and airtight for winter.

    We would be very happy to welcome you to share in our living experience.

    In appreciation, achille

  • Help

    Help

    Summer has just begun and we are engaged in construction; some roofing and Strawbale renovation, as well as gardening, firewood processing, falling trees.

    If you are looking at later summer we will be fully engaged in getting everything squared away for the change of season; In other words much to do before the snow flies.

    At that point we will welcome some support in harvest, preserving food, getting firewood and kindling squared away, and putting the garden to bed for the winter.

    ....and quite likely finishing up construction will still need some energy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you a small creek side cabin w sleeping loft. though there is no wifi in the cabin, you will have wifi access in both main residences.

    There is also the option of a guest room in one of the houses.

    Meals are shared with everyone in the main house, outhouse shared bathroom, laundry facility.

    In addition We can actually accommodate a tiny house or winterised vehicle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is ample opportunity for hiking, lounging by the creek, bike riding, and you can easily go to town by local bus. Nelson is a very interesting miniature city; it differs from most small towns in that it has a huge diversity of cultural opportunity, and a wide diversity of population.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    not too clear what digital nomads are... however we do have wifi availble, with a reasonable bandwidth for normal use. ie mail and internet browsing.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can actually accommodate a tiny house or winterised vehicle. Should that concept be appealing to you, kindly ring me at 250.505.5901

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 296715117235