Help on our hobby farm on Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada




Favourited 254 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *️*️*️ our latest workaway failed to show so we are looking for someone immediately *️*️*️

    We have a small family hobby farm on a small ferry accessed island which is a tourist destination off of Vancouver Island. We have a small herd of dairy goats, egg and meat chickens, ducks and three free-range, energetic, independent minded, and at times very loud children (6, 8, 10).

    Quadra Island has a network of mountain biking and hiking trails, many miles of beautiful coastline, and a wonderful artist and music community. Our farm is located relatively close (3km) to both towns on the island, and hitchhiking is quite easy and accepted on the island.

    Current projects include usual goat, chicken and duck care, building cabins, gutting an old house for rebuilding, expanding electric fencing, and vegetable gardening. Home projects would include help with children, household chores and mealtime. Other projects may be included based on weather, time, completion of other jobs, whimsy and the skills of helpers.

    Helpers need to be aware that we have 2 large livestock guardian dogs, and must enjoy interacting with children.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Quadra Island is a beautiful holiday destination, with many hiking and biking trails, many miles of shoreline, wildlife, artists and music.

    We are a friendly family who have traveled in the past, and look forward to meeting and sharing stories, culture, language and experience with other interesting people.

    Helpers can benefit from learning about taking care of animals, garden, a permaculture based garden, fresh local home-cooked food, markets, a beautiful destination, and a lot of youthful energy and imagination.

  • Help


    We are a very easygoing family with lots of projects on the go, and 3 young, energetic children. Help can vary depending on the skills of the helper, and the time of year. Help doing interesting projects with children (fun projects of your choice, build treehouse, fix bicycles, soccer, learning french and other languages), maintaining and planting the vegetable garden, building and maintaining outbuildings, general farm maintenance, animal care, and electric fence building are all possibilities. Help in term of basic household chores (meal cleanup, toiletry, and basic tidying) are expected from all house guests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation may vary depending on how many people are here, and the time if year. We have a tent trailer, quaint cabin with basic electricity, an outdoor shower and sawdust toilet. We also have a spare room in the family house. Indoor shower and toilet facilities are shared in the main house.

    In terms of meals, breakfast will be in the main house sometime between 7-9am where the day's projects will be planned. A basic self-serve lunch will be available around mid day. Dinner will be shared with the family in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Quadra Island is a beautiful destination, with many hiking and biking trails, many miles of shoreline, wildlife, artists and music.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 294588867468