Language teacher, Artist, Carpenter, farm helpers wanted at a self-sustainable community through art in Toon, Japan



Favourited 735 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    You can be a part of our family and take part in the process of making a self-sustainable, creative way of living in countryside in Japan.
    We are based in Southwest Japan, Ehime prefecture.
    Our goal is to enjoy the simplicity of life and living it fully with our own creations of food, growing and harvesting them as well as the creation of daily objects from garments to memories while we play music and dance together.

    We are especially looking for skilled carpenters, engineers , electricians and plumbers as well as those who like to help us with farming. Also, we look for someone with permacultural knowledge to exchange ideas, skills etc.
    We also want to welcome skilled teachers in foreign languages so that our son, Sora can learn multiple languages.

    We do not have to be consided as host/volunteer or co workers. It will be meaningful for us to spend time together and eventually building a lasting relationship as friends or even an extended part of family here in Japan that you could always come back here to us with nature.
    We will accept each other's individuality and learn to coexist together as a beautiful mix.
    We would know and understand about each other's culture and have open minded hearts with good energy flow.

    We are looking for someone mature and who can work independently. At the same time, who is open in his/her heart and observes well to see what is needed to be done.

    We usually have one day of introduction and Masanori (or Tabi chan) will work with you, but you take your own initiative, and find solutions, come up with ideas and solve problems (of course we discuss important things together). This is because Masanori has a part time job few times a week and I am full hand with our son, Sora.
    We do not want to judge people by their age, however above 25 years old is preferred. In past experiences, we had few cases where I (Azusa) had to act like their mom and I honestly do not want this to happen. We also appreciate that you keep the dates you promised to dedicate yourself. This is a volunteer project yet we grow more when you dedicate and commit yourself fully.

    The house we live in is old, so it is very cold from mid Dec to the end of March, and very hot from July to mid Sep. Please pay attention to this condition when you apply. (But 95 percent of volunteers we had in the past had no problems with it)
    This is a very old house with 100 years history so the wood and floorings creaks and also the kitchen maybe active as early as from 5am so do get use to the sound .

    *About the help we need*
    We take care of two properties with big fields and there are always things to work on. There are many places where we can get a hand of carpenters for instance. Gardeners, designers are also wanted. If you have worked with woods, that is great. We really appreciate handy and flexible people. We want someone who can cook because we are usually busy working and fixing stuff.
    We are thankful to receive workers who have experience with baby sitting and nanny job since we have a baby who was born in Sep 2018.

    We do weekly grocery shopping and I (Azusa) hope to be able to find someone that feels comfortable to look after Sora either or take part in the grocery shopping process with me. At times you will be spending 1-1 moments with Sora while I will be running errands or settling work related matters much like my support.

    IMPORTANT: Currently, we want one artist before June who can help us to decorate or work on the decoration for our wedding. We are organizing the wedding reception of ours in an abandoned village in the second week of June.

    We continuously look for artists who can beautify the house with your gifts. If you are interested in the house, please contact us. We always have something to give anyway:)

    *From spring 2020, we will run airbnb in the second house in nature, and we look for a couple or friends (2 people) who can take care of the lodging. You will get veggies to cook or food, a beautiful and simple lodge made by our dear volunteer, Nathan to sleep in. It is a beautiful Satoyama environment with nice neighbors (They only speak Japanese). It is a big plus if you want to cook for guests, and also love gardening because we have a big garden and want to start a herb garden there. Could be better for those who want to stay for a long period and it is good if you can both English and Japanese.
    Could be also something if you want to develop your Japanese skills.
    Write in the message you want to do this job when you apply.

    Ehime prefecture is known as the land of the rich soil, mild climate. It offers beautiful and dynamic nature. There is the mount Ishizuchi near us, which is the sacred mountain that protects the whole area. It faces Setouchi inland sea as well.
    Toon city is quite flat, and has many forests and waterfalls.

    Little bit about who we are....
    Azusa is an artist, (performance and textile) who has lived in Sweden for 10 years. She traveled a lot around the world and loves playing music and dance. She speaks fluent English, Swedish and basic German.

    Masanori( aka Tabi chan ) is a former fisherman and a farmer who is kind to the planet earth. His interests and passion are farming, and learning about permaculture and applies to it to the community. He loves music and is a good singer.

    Sora is a baby, unique character and the gift of the planet earth..he wants to listen to different kinds of sounds, will be great if you want to learn him your language such as English, Spanish etc.

    You are very welcome to visit us and be the part of the whole creation.

    Thank you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn skills about maintenance about old houses, organic farming, dance and art, express through music.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are starting a self-sustainable community through art and farming. We see life as art, such as making own clothes, food and also fixing the old house that is 80 years old.

    You are very welcome here to express yourself by being who you are, and use your creativity for fixing the house, decorating the house, cooking, cleaning etc.

    You will have a place to sleep, and we provide veggies and rice as a base for food when you work. We cook together sometimes, or you are welcome to cook on your own, for us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    a room in the house. Futon mattress.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Important *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Our toilette is outside and a compost toilette built by our beloved volunteers.
    We need to prepare firewood in the boiler to heat up water to take a shower and it is a part of the job for volunteers to learn and do the work, too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Usually around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 294454339483