Help around our House in beautiful Southern Utah- USA

Country

United States

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    There are 4 of us living in the home Randy(host dad), Penny(host mom) Melissa(Daughter) and Jones(grandson).
    We have a very large family, 5 children all together, and 12 Grandchildren. We are very active and our house can sometimes be loud and chaotic. For the most part, our house is laid back and we are very easy going. We do have plenty of space in the house for you to go for some quiet time too. When we do have free time, we like to go for hikes, walks and bike rides, go to the lakes in the summer for kayaking, going to movies, seeing shows at a local theater, and going to our favorite restaurants for dinner.

    We are a smoke-free and alcohol-free home. We do allow you to smoke outside, away from the house allowing that you clean up after yourself. And alcohol may be allowed in your own space as long as it doesn't cause you to disturb or disrupt the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For any one wanting to learn or practice English, this is the perfect place! Penny(host mom) is very outgoing and willing to chat! The house is a very warm and welcoming place, with opportunities to further every day life and living skills. We refer to our house as grand central station, with many friends and family coming and going, there is a lot of opportunity to make connections and new friends. Penny always has advice on what restaurants to try, the best routes, tips, and tricks for visiting and getting the most out of the near state and national parks. Southern Utah is a very beautiful place to visit, surrounded by red mountains, mountains that get snow in the winter, many many hiking and biking trails, and beautiful lakes to visit in the summer.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help around the house on various projects! Depending on the time of year, we may need help outside in our garden/pulling weeds/watering/mowing the lawns/etc, help with home improvements inside and outside of our home, and other odd jobs. Some jobs may require previous skill in that area, but can be discussed with the workawayer which specific projects we will be working on. We have many projects that won't require any previous experience or skills and can plan for tackling those projects at the time of your stay.

    An example of one of the projects we need help with is attaching stone to the outside of our house. You would be assisting Randy in this and don't necessarily need to have the skill set for it, but need to be willing to learn and help

    We also have some painting that may need to be done inside on the walls, and on various furniture/decor that we are updating.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    RV Trailer parked on our property or private room in the home. Either of those accommodations have a queen size bed, space for storing clothes . The RV is full size with a small kitchen area/table and a couch/seating area to relax in the evenings. Both spaces will have a mini fridge and microwave for your personal use. The bathroom will be located in the house only(rv doesn't have a working bathroom) and may be shared with other people in the house.

    We are a smoke-free and alcohol-free home. We do allow you to smoke outside, away from the house allowing that you clean up after yourself. And alcohol may be allowed in your own space as long as it doesn't cause you to disturb or disrupt the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We hope to give you plenty of time to be able to explore the beautiful area that we live in, or the states that are around us as well. we have bikes, kayaks, 4 wheelers, A LOT of camping and hiking gear(tents, camp cookers, sleeping bags, we really have everything) and a manual truck for personal use if needed(its very old and you might need to get used to driving it, but it works!) we are a very busy family. We don't do a lot of sitting around, our life is fairly fast paced and we are always working on projects at home, have grandkids and family visiting, there is hardly ever a dull moment! We love welcoming new friends into our lives and getting to know other cultures and lifestyles as well!

    Workers will be required to keep their space CLEAN and TIDY as well as be respectful to our home, our belongings, and our family!


    -We are located 5 minutes from Snow Canyon State Park
    -There are many amazing bouldering and climbing spots all within 10 minutes of our house
    -Zion National Park is 45 minutes driving from our house
    -Bryce Canyon National Park is 2.5 hours driving from our house
    -Petrified Forest is 1 hour driving from our house
    -Capitol Reef is 3.5 hours driving from our house
    -Death Valley Nation Park just under 4 hours of driving from our house

    and MANY other beautiful State Parks, Monuments, and must-see landmarks to visit in your free time!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 293985822762