Gardening, maintenance or surf lesson help in Uvita, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    READ PLEASE: Please do not apply at the moment there is no forseable availability.

    Hola, my name is Debbie and I own/operate a boutique retreat center/guesthouse/yoga facility in Uvita. We are very new and appreciate hosting work trades as we feel it benefits us both. I personally have done many work trades (as the worker) and have your satisfaction high on my list of priorities.

    We are open to several options for work trade.
    Our top priority at the moment is gardening (pulling weeds, transplanting plants, and light maintenance (some cleaning/painting). We would also love a language trade (French/Italian) or surf lessons! There is a ton of tropical gardening to learn and do here. We have many papaya, plantain, banana plants, avocado, cinnamon, bread tree, mamones, neem, yucca, jamaica, katuk, bush spinach, mangoes, many trees that are growing and producing and many that are just a year old. You could also learn a lot about fruits/vegetables. We have an irrigation system which you could learn how to use. Composting toilet/permaculture projects are a small part of our lifestyle here. I love art and architecture and we always have some projects going on with drift wood, rocks, and we also have a zen garden with sand and rock art.

    I can teach basic/intermediate Spanish and many English levels. I used to teach both of these languages. Our interaction could consist of surfing together, gardening, and or art projects..

    We can help out with the purchase of staple groceries and an occasional dinner (both at home or out) but daily meals are not part of the trade.

    Currently we have one person part time (gardening/maintenance) and one part time cleaning lady on staff here plus us to do all the general work that needs done daily. We also offer yoga you are welcome to join in on approx. 4 x a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are close to the main entrance to whale's tail national park. I have a bike you can use and 2 surfboards. Free yoga, and a nice private (or potentially shared with another work/trade) entire cabina. Uvita has tons of natural beauty, including waterfalls, rivers, and beaches. We are very close to many interesting natural adventures! There's a great potential for advancing your Spanish with our workers. We have tons of medical plants and herbs for you to learn how to care for, propagate and use.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking at the moment for some help with gardening mostly. Maintenance help here and there would be great too. I would love to learn French or Italian and Surf! We are interested in any of these trades but for now our top need is gardening and light maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    As a beginner surfer near a few great beaches I have a mad desire to surf mejor! I would also love to learn French and Italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 4 casitas that we rent out at our small Yoga retreat center. Yours would be the caravan...unless it is rented then we may ask you to move to the newer casita which we just finished and have not rented yet. There is a lot of space and vegetation between the four, one bedroom casitas. The newer casita is called Serenidiad and is a two twin bed shared facility.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many waterfalls, beach, national parks, you could participate in yoga, learn Spanish, things like that. Taxi's and buses are available and nearby. We have two bicycles and surfboards for your personal use. We are growing many medicinal plants, food and herbs and learning more about these would be very fun for those interested in such things.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have decent wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large gated parking lot.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 293495556365