Help us with our animals in Canoe, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1120

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Retired couple on a small hobby farm in the Shuswap. Have many animals! Horses, donkeys, chickens, 3 pot bellied pigs, 40+ sheep and 7 dogs. Jim is Japanese-Canadian, Debbie is Caucasian, no kids or grandkids but lots of neighbours and friends in the area. 2 horses are rideable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In addition to English, we use Sign Language and Japanese occasionally in the home. We are willing to show visitors around the area as well.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help digging and planting a large raised-bed garden, feeding and watering all our animals twice a day, and pruning fruit trees in the spring, harvesting in the fall, and lots of smaller chores and repairs in between.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Sign language (American): Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Loft bedroom with double and single bed, use of bathroom and showers, meals provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In winter, there is cross country and downhill skiing, snow shoeing, snowmobiling and lots of live music from country to jazz. There are a few nice restaurants, a brew pub and one night club with a variety of music and dancing options. There is an hourly bus service that stops a few blocks from the farm Monday to Saturday. In summer there are lots of hiking trails, and Shuswap and other lakes for swimming, boating and other water sports. Shopping is typical small town - lots of nice small shops, a Walmart and a Winners and a few other bigger chains. Vernon (45 minutes away) and Kamloops (1 hr 15 mins away) have most of the larger chain stores for more shopping. Social activities for young people are somewhat limited so volunteers should be prepared to entertain themselves as much as possible. We try to introduce volunteers to local activities and include them in our activities with family and friends where possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space to park a trailer or campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 292677955247